Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 19:40   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 474
Re: Replacing wire lifeline with tubing

Quote:
Originally Posted by msponer View Post
So that is where all the dinghies that disappear in the night are at...
__________________

__________________
SunDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 23:52   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oregon
Boat: 57' Laurent Giles Yawl
Posts: 755
Re: Replacing wire lifeline with tubing

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunDevil View Post
So that is where all the dinghies that disappear in the night are at...
Yes, I thought it'd be a great practical joke one night to take all the dinghies in the anchorage and tie them to the stern...
__________________

__________________
msponer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 01:03   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Boat: Amel Santorin 46ft
Posts: 113
3/4 inch or 1inch tube will do for the job. On the Santorin there is no side gate, as it's not needed when you have a secure SS top rail, from stern to bow. I would go for a welded top rail over the use of fittings, as it guarantees strength and support. If there are any problems with the rail they will be usually found at the stanchion base welds. So beefed up A welder with a reputation for working in stainless steel should be sought, as the job is better suited to a professional. It's the prep work that will take up most of your time and that can be done by you. Good luck on the project
__________________
joemac4sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 01:07   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Boat: Amel Santorin 46ft
Posts: 113
Sorry again, I was trying to say mid post, to beef up the stanchion base support. Regards Joe
__________________
joemac4sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 16:05   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Francisco
Boat: Passport 42
Posts: 172
I just change my aft uppers to the gate to tube. Love it! I have 1.25 inch rails so finding the hardware was a pain. T
For the rest of my lines I use 5/16 amsteel. Love that too.
__________________

__________________
memelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternator Wire and Ammeter sdowney717 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 14-11-2011 09:21
Replacing Wire in Hull Liner michaelmrc Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 29-10-2011 01:02



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.