Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 10-07-2015, 10:03   #1

Replacing Topside Handrails - process?

All -

Updating some old handrails on the topside of our Beneteau Oceanis 351. Old ones had taken their beating.

Got the new rails and am getting ready to tackle this process but as this is my first time replacing any wood topside I had a couple questions to make sure I cover my bases.

- After removing a small portion of the old rails (2) that are about 6 feet long it appears that the holes that the previous screws went into on the deck are in decent shape. Is it ok to reuse these holes but perhaps fill with a sealant (4000?) and then screw back into them or should I put 5200 in and let them cure then re-drill new holes?

- As far as the wood goes - I am going to use a chad bit to drill the new holes for the screws then use a cap/plug to cover - should i just use a standard wood glue on this?

Thats all! Simple questions but want to make sure I dont screw this up.

Thanks for your help!

J.R.

Old 10-07-2015, 11:07   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Re: Replacing Topside Handrails - process?

Hi J.R. And welcome.

Since I am a charter member of the measure three times cut once club, your questions are quite sensible.