Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2011, 02:09   #1
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Do any of you guys know what the pins/wires on the raymarine...

3 wire sea talk cable...

5 wire ng spur to T piece connector cable, the white one that goes to instruments from the T pieces....

6 wire ng backbone cable, 5m long ones, that connect the T pieces together, the blue leads.

As I want to join ST60 instruments( only seatalk ng connections) to a ST70 (only has ng connections)course controller, to a A50 chart plotter,(has seatalk ng connector and nmea in and out) TO a set of ST60 wind and speed/depth guages(only sea talk connections), and a st60 data repeater (with only seatalk 3 pin connectors in and out), phew??

So, counting the middle pin as 1 and going clockwise we have 5 pins on seatalk ng connectors, 6 pins on the T piece ng spur cable connectors and 3 pins on the old sea talk connectors.

Which ones are power, + and -?,, which ones are data, which ones are nmea pins, or doesnt the sea talk bus carry nmea data?? I have a seatalk 3 pin connector to a seatlk ng connector cable, came with the linear drive autopilot kit.

I also have an X10 course computer in the system which has input for nmea in and out and seatalk and seatalk ng, but I am short on seatalk ng cables and connectors, can I join them up by soldering 5 wire cables between them? I want the wind and speed and log data to get to the course computer so it can be shared on the bus.

Any one have the pin info or a site that shows it please?
Cheers from Keith, in penang getting indo visa for 2 months.
__________________

__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:06   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Blue Stocking's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Georges, Bda
Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Posts: 4,117
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Aren't these configurations shown/described in illustrated form in the respective manuals. I know I have seen them somewhere. I have 40 & 50 mixed.
__________________

__________________
so many projects--so little time !!
Blue Stocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:16   #3
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Hi Blue, no, I have trolled the raymarine site and asked the tech guys there through the purchasers login, they wont say, as they dont want you connecting up the cables and cutting and splicing them your slf, "it will void the warranty". "But it can be done".
I have done it successfully with the seatalk1 and 2 cables, easy, as only three wires, but the ng has 5 pins on the spur cables going to the backbone cable through the T connectors and 6 pins on the T juctions for the backbone cables, and two of the pins connect to 2 other pins as well, not a one to one connection?
Cheers from Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:22   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,062
Raymarine ST60 wind transducer test

Not a direct answer to your question, but related:

ST60 Wind Testing
To perform the check, you will need a multimeter, and a DC power supply. You will need to supply 8v to the masthead across the red and shield connections. Normally the ST50/ST60 display head would be energized and provide this 8V, however in your case, you may need to power the mashead transducer seperately.
With the multimeter, check the following:
Set the multimeter to the 20V DC scale.
Test at the connections on the rear of the display head, or at the base of the mast (if you have a junction box installed.)
Red to shield should read 8 volts DC steady. This is the masthead power supply, coming from the ST50/ST60 display head. If the head is damaged, you may need to provide this power from another source to test the masthead.
Blue to Shield should read anywhere between 2 and 6 volts DC. This is the port side directional element. The voltage changes as the vane turns.
Green to Shield should read anywhere between 2 and 6 volts DC. This is the starboard side directional element.
Yellow to shield should read between 0 and 5 volts DC. This is the wind speed circuit. The faster the wind is blowing, the higher the voltage will read.
If any of these readings are out of spec, you should assume the masthead is damaged, and it should be repaired or replaced.
__________________
SailFastTri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:26   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,062
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Seatalk is documented here: Yachting and Boating World Forums - View Single Post - Autohelm seatalk wireing?
__________________
SailFastTri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:31   #6
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Cheers sail, do you know the configuration for the ng cables, 5 and 6 pin?
Thanks from Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:55   #7
Registered User
 
felixqld66's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Phuket Thailand for the moment
Boat: Landfall 39 built 1982
Posts: 138
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Hey Keith

Not sure about the A50 plotter but raymarine have a cable that will go from ST70 Pilot head to the st60 instruments one came with my St70 Autopilot head ...I guess not one with yours.


I just dug around to see if I have another but I dont......I di have a seatalk out with the seatalk spade like end and the red, black (+ive -ive ) and yellow (data)

There is a raymarine dealer in Penang will it not be easier to grab cables from him? Buy a couple of cables maybe get some free advice on networking the A50

Cheers
__________________
felixqld66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 06:02   #8
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Hi Alex, what is the name and address of the raymarine dealer in Penang?
Cheers from Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:46   #9
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Here it is, raymarine use a nmea2000 protocol for thei ng network.
http://www.odva.org/portals/0/librar...Print_Copy.pdf

Keith
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 16:00   #10
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

surfmachine. The 5 pin seatalkng cable is wired as a standard DeviceNet cable

White: Net-H, “high” data signal
Blue: Net-L, “low” data signal
Bare: shield
Red: Net-S, 12v DC power supply
Black: Net-C, 12v DC ground

see http://www.huronnet.com/Library/DN-1...s%20Manual.pdf

Note that the extra 6 "th" pin actually is the traditional "seatalk" data pin , allowing the 6 pin cabling to transmit standard seatalk over it.

NOte seatalk isnt NMEA, equally Raymarine say that if your network contains seatalk and seatalkng, then the seatalkng cabling canot be directly connected to the NMEA2K network.

IN your case, wire all the ST60s ( seatalk) through the ST70, and convert everything to seatlkng and feed it to the A50.

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2011, 08:09   #11
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Ahoy Dave, bought a few more ng cables and hooked up the a50 through the ng backbone and works a treat, talks to the st70 great.
But, the st60 data repeater wont talk through the ng backbone, using a seatalk 3 pin end and a ng end on a standard raymarine cable to hook into the T piece in the backbone cable, the st60 powers up but will not show any data other than voltage?
Do I have to use the nmea in and out of the st60 and hook it into the x10 nmea inputs on the course computer?
Cheers from Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2011, 07:11   #12
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Ahoy, all up and running great, hooked up the st60's via seatalk to the course computer and used ng bus to connect a50 chart plotter to the course computer and they are all sharing data and can control the autopilot from the chart plotter, also using the nmea in and out links to the course computer.
Off to Sumatra tomorrow!
Fair winds from Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2011, 08:50   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
surfmachine. The 5 pin seatalkng cable is wired as a standard DeviceNet cable

White: Net-H, “high” data signal
Blue: Net-L, “low” data signal
Bare: shield
Red: Net-S, 12v DC power supply
Black: Net-C, 12v DC ground

see http://www.huronnet.com/Library/DN-1...s%20Manual.pdf

Note that the extra 6 "th" pin actually is the traditional "seatalk" data pin , allowing the 6 pin cabling to transmit standard seatalk over it.

NOte seatalk isnt NMEA, equally Raymarine say that if your network contains seatalk and seatalkng, then the seatalkng cabling canot be directly connected to the NMEA2K network.

IN your case, wire all the ST60s ( seatalk) through the ST70, and convert everything to seatlkng and feed it to the A50.

Dave
I have a similar situation. I know you have solved the problem SurfMachine - but -was it with proprietary converters or cut and join wires? So far I have used the proprietary Raymarine hardware.
I have new ST60 wind instrument - mast head sensor/cable/instrument. A bunch of new Raymarine products: "E" series screen, AIS500, RAY240 VHF, GPS etc.
The GPS in attached picture had a seatalk to seatalk-ng converter. But only one item could plug into center and repeat on the network (I think - purely experimenting). So bought 2 more converters to hook up VHF, and ST60s. Now they all communicate - and plenty of room for adding on.
However, temporarily, I wish to provide the wind data to the old B&G instruments at the helm.
I have a seatalk to nmea converter - have "seatalk in" (LED lit)- how/what to connect the 2 +/- "NMEA out" to on the B&G network?
have B&G hercules 2000 repeaters. Should it go to the previous connections (6) on the B&G computer?
thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	seatalkng.jpg
Views:	779
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	28666  
__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 01:34   #14
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Ahoy Cat, not really sure, but try the two nmea cables on various leads on your other instruments, one of the nmea is a negative, the other carries the data???
Best to get expert advice, I can control my autopilot from the a50 or the data repeater, I think.
Look out Sumatra, here I come!!!
Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 19:57   #15
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables?

Hello fellow mariners.
Problem solved.
Here is the answer to the pinout problem
See the PDF below for pictures of the seatalk1 and sealak2 and seatalkng pinouts and what wire and what pin connection does what!

file:///C:/Keith/Personal%20files/Stirling%202014/Raymarine%20SeaTalk%20Network%20Connection%20Cross %20Reference.pdf

Courtesy of bob and connie.

I am now installing a new wireless raymarine A78 MFD interfaced with a GME AIST120 classB AIS transponder and external gps antenna and antenna splitter and new vhf antenna. Features the chirp downvision sonar via the thruhull cpt120 transducer, put into the old hole where the st60 depth transducer was.

Looks like it will all work great together?

Sticking with the Furuno radar at present, and still using the forward looking sonar from Interphase.

Off to Sumatra, again, from Phuket in mid May 2014.

Cheers from Keith.
__________________

__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cables, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting AIS Transponder to Raymarine E80 nigel1 Navigation 5 15-01-2011 04:19
Raymarine SmartPilot X-5 Wheel Pilot Pedestal Pin Mod blackcloud Marine Electronics 5 26-12-2010 11:19
Connecting Garmin 555 Chartplotter to Raymarine autohelm trophy160 Marine Electronics 0 02-05-2010 11:29
Raymarine ST60 and Raymarine C80 Pete7 Marine Electronics 8 26-10-2009 23:20



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.