Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 05:37   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almería, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Raymarine / Autohelm Troubleshooting

Hello,

in the new (to me) project boat, the current setup is-

ST50 compass display
ST60 tridata display
ST7000 auto pilot control unit with
- course computer
- hydraulic drive on steering system
- gyro compass unit

Sadly whilst the tridata depth/log etc appear to be working, the autopilot and compass unit appear to be dead. Hence I have no way of assessing the state of the course computer or drive unit.

I am wondering
-whether a partial replacement would be possible, i.e. are any of these units compatible with newer ones? e.g. I can't see why the hydraulic drive unit should be broken really.
-how I can troubleshoot the components, i.e. is it possible to measure the voltages on the cables?

Thanks for your attention
__________________

__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 14:56   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Yes, you can keep the drive and upgrade to a new computer and controls.

What are the symptoms of the current autopilot. Does it power up?
__________________

__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 16:28   #3
Registered User
 
Sunspot Baby's Avatar

Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Bern, NC
Boat: Prout Manta 38' Catamaran - Sunspot Baby
Posts: 1,521
Images: 14
When you say the compass is "dead" do you mean your seperate flux gate? Without that, the autohelm will just read "NO PILOT."

Make sue the compass really works first. Then trouble shoot the autohelm.

Raymarine has tech manuals on line if you need them.

George
__________________
She took my address and my name
Put my credit to shame
Sunspot Baby, sure had a real good time
Bob Seger
Sunspot Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 21:41   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Boat: 1993 Lagoon 37 TPI
Posts: 124
Tach support at Raymarine

Go to www.raymarine.com and click on "customer support" and then on "Support Home." Near the top of the page, click on "Ask Raymarine." You will have to create an "Raymarine insider account," but this will allowyou to send e-mail to tech support. Someone will reply to your e-mail and walk you through the trouble shoot. If some component needs repair, they have a flat rate price. You can get the flat rate prices at Raymarine Marine Electronics - Autopilot Repair Rates

Hope this helps.
__________________
Mike Sibley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:15   #5
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
I would start by seeing if everything is getting 12VDC power - maybe it's wired in a "creative" way, like a different switch or breaker, or perhaps one of the SeaTalk connections is bad or disconnected.

The course computer will have it's own power input. All the displays are powered via SeaTalk (red wire).

The course computer most likely has two SeaTalk networks, so it's possible (recommended, actually) that the A/P control head be on one network, and everything else integrated on the other (the computer will bridge the two when powered up). I mention this because it may help in your troubleshooting and tracing of wires.

I have no idea about testing the fluxgate compass specifically...
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:29   #6
Registered User
 
stevensc's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Boat: Monk 36 Trawler
Posts: 679
I had problems with mine I called the Raymarine Tel number and a tech spent about 15 minutes, twice, talking me through the test of voltages proceedure we found the fault (rudder indicator) and it is working fine now. I don't have the number on hand it was in the manual.
Steve
__________________
stevensc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:43   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almería, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Thanks very much for the kind words of advice all around

Quote:
What are the symptoms of the current autopilot. Does it power up?
The autopilot makes a clicking noise when the electricity is turned on. There are no lights on the unit, so I don't know. The two display units connected to it *seem* totally dead. Having said that, I haven't really understood the entire network as of yet.

Quote:
When you say the compass is "dead" do you mean your seperate flux gate? Without that, the autohelm will just read "NO PILOT."
Yes. I can't be too sure what components are broken, I was probably junking to conclusions, see above.

Quote:
I would start by seeing if everything is getting 12VDC power - maybe it's wired in a "creative" way, like a different switch or breaker, or perhaps one of the SeaTalk connections is bad or disconnected.
That's what the customer service person (thanks for that idea) in Southampton recommended, to connect the unit directly to the computer - I will investigate further..

Quote:
two SeaTalk networks, so it's possible (recommended, actually) that the A/P control head be on one network, and everything else integrated on the other (the computer will bridge the two when powered up).
Yes, there seem to be two networks, as the separate multi displays still display depth and log speed, the multi repeater unit does not display magnetic compass heading either though.
__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Quote:

The autopilot makes a clicking noise when the electricity is turned on. There are no lights on the unit, so I don't know. The two display units connected to it *seem* totally dead. Having said that, I haven't really understood the entire network as of yet.

The clicking noise is the relays activating and is normal. If you remove all other St devices and just hook up the computer to the control head it will be easier to start isolating the problem. If you have two cotrol heads or can borrow one, you can determine if the problem is in the computer or head.
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 13:57   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Los Angeles,ca
Boat: Piver Victress 40 - Windhook
Posts: 30
Sunspot : Do you know for sure that "no pilot" indicates a problem with the flux gate ? I have been getting that error intermittently and can't find the cause. The manual is very vague about that error message. It says to make sure the course computer is turned on, but since the control head gets it's power from the course computer it must be on. How would you trouble a flux gate issue if in fact "no pilot" indicates a flux gate issue. I'm hoping it may be a bad connection with the course computer. Could it also be a failing course computer ?

thanks, -tavis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspot Baby View Post
When you say the compass is "dead" do you mean your seperate flux gate? Without that, the autohelm will just read "NO PILOT."

Make sue the compass really works first. Then trouble shoot the autohelm.

Raymarine has tech manuals on line if you need them.

George
__________________
dubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 14:39   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
"No pilot" generally means you have a problem with the computer. "No Data" is possibly the compass. Check all of your ST cables first.

If you want to test the fluxgate compass, go to Raymarine.com and search for "Advanced Compass Troubleshooting". It will tell you how to test the fluxgate with an ohm meter.
__________________

__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autohelm, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Garmin 555 Chartplotter to Raymarine autohelm trophy160 Marine Electronics 0 02-05-2010 11:29
Raymarine Autohelm Motor AlyPink Marine Electronics 7 16-11-2009 02:15
Raymarine Autohelm Glitch - Thoughts? TaoJones Marine Electronics 7 19-09-2009 14:35
Raymarine Autohelm 4000 motor singaporebob Marine Electronics 2 07-04-2009 16:11
Autohelm 6000 & Raymarine C80 hook-up richardhula Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 3 02-11-2008 19:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.