Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2010, 08:15   #1
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,773
Radar and Wind on Stern Pole ?

Has anyone seen or done this? Photos? Comments?

We have a fitting on the new boat for a 2" pipe to accommodate a wind genny. I am thinking outloud about a pole that has radar about a foot below the wind genny, on schedule 80 aluminum pipe? A welder could fabricate the mount, I imagine.

Chris
__________________

__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 08:37   #2
CF Adviser
 
Bash's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sausalito
Boat: 14 meter sloop
Posts: 7,260
I'm looking at my wind generator right now, and don't see how it could possibly work. The blades are not far enough from the mast itself--what you're referring to as the "pipe"--to accommodate the radome. You'd have to extend the generator more than two feet higher than the radome with my system, which would probably make for an unstable mast. The highest mast I've ever seen anyone use is 9'. The system you'd want to design would probably top out at least 12', because you need to keep the radome high enough overhead that it doesn't become a health hazard to crew.

I certainly wouldn't try to design such a system.
__________________

__________________
cruising is entirely about showing up--in boat shoes.
Bash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 08:56   #3
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
I cant see what the issue is, Just move the wind genny up enough to clear the radome Easy peasy.

Dave
__________________
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 10:17   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,130
The pole would have to be very high to accommodate a wind generator and a raydome. You could "T' a branch off the pole for the radome and this would keep the height reasonable.
__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 11:44   #5
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,773
Kato Marine's website says they offer it, but I don't see any photos. I would prefer to do this myself, or mostly myself anyways, - over 1200 for a pole mount is too much for me to bear.

I had not thought of "Side Mounting" the raydome - it would have to be set back as well. I wonder if the blades would mess up the radar's performance?
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 22:08   #6
Registered User
 
Rhythmsmith's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Culebra, PR
Boat: Alberg 35
Posts: 31
Send a message via Skype™ to Rhythmsmith
katomarine combo pole

Quote:
Originally Posted by witzgall View Post
Kato Marine's website says they offer it, but I don't see any photos. I would prefer to do this myself, or mostly myself anyways, - over 1200 for a pole mount is too much for me to bear.
To get a combo pole from Kato is $1200 for the windgen pole plus $600 for the radar mount option, totaling $1800. I made the same conclusion that the price was WAY too much. Looks like they do good work though, photo attached of a combo pole they made...

I am now considering a backstay mount for the radar, and a pole I already have for the windgen. Unfortunately, backstay mounts aren't cheap either, $700-1000. Anyone know of a cheaper solution?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	combo pole.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	20267  
__________________
Rhythmsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2010, 05:36   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NY-FL
Boat: Sold
Posts: 291
I don't Y anyone just doesn't get a 6-10 foot length of 2.5-3" aluminum tube and have a top and bottom plates welded on!

Can't cost more than $100-$150.

I saw those Kato's & other brands at the boat shows, nice but just plain overpriced.

Over the winter I'm experimenting making one out of 3" Stika spruce just for S & G.
__________________

__________________
Jimbo2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radar Mast Pole Height Jimbo2010 Marine Electronics 17 16-10-2010 15:22
For Sale: SS Radar Pole by Yacht Specialties NW benjiwoodboat Classifieds Archive 2 24-08-2009 19:30
pole mounted radar dockgoody Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 11 12-12-2008 08:52
Mounting A Radar On A Windgen Pole?? Hubec Marine Electronics 3 04-03-2008 20:01



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.