Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-02-2014, 18:38   #1

Pro's and con's of timber, steel and fiberglass for older boats.

Hi folks,

I am a newbie here so forgive me if much of my ground has been covered by others before me.

Having retired, I am looking to buy a cruising yacht. I have started monitoring the boats for sale pages and it seems there’s no shortage of boats that prima facie fit many of my requirements and budget .

My maximum budget is approx AUD80,000. This means I can pay $80k if it is exactly what I want, in total “sail away no more to pay” condition. Much more likely is that I will buy a boat for less than that and then be prepared to some spend some time and money to bring it up to scratch.

I have reasonable mechanical aptitude, reasonably good woodworker and have done some fibreglassing. I’m a lousy welder. Generally, I’m pretty reasonable in the DYI stakes, and have plenty of tools in my shed.

The following are my broad criteria:

· I have no interest in racing; only cruising, so sea kindliness is important
· The boat must be capable of ocean passages
· Monohull only
· I want to be able to sail short handed and sometimes single handed
· Probably not less than 30ft overall because I want standing headroom below
· Probably not more than 40ft because I’m thinking that the bigger boat and bigger sail areas will be harder to handle on my own. My gut feel is that around 36ft would be about right.
· Long keel, and beamy.
· Probably cutter rig, or maybe ketch.
· Prefer aft cockpit, and tiller steering.