Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 13:15   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cal 28 "Happy Days"
Send a message via Yahoo to capngeo Send a message via Skype™ to capngeo
Propane Transfer ( Flame Suit on )

I'll preface this by telling those who really don't know what's going on to save the flames!

I have two small 5# aluminum LP cylinders for cooking on my boat. Here in KW, they charge the same amount to fill the little buggers as they do for 20#ers. So I adapted some knowledge gained at work to my needs... I transfer fuel to the little ones from a big one.

I am a firefighter/paramedic; on occasion we are called to a leaking propane cylinder. The local gas company guys showed me a trick years ago. They will invert the leaking cylinder, connect a double male POL fitting to both tanks, open the valves and the 10% valve on the empty cylinder. The donor cylinder feeds liquid to the receiving cylinder until it reaches the 10% valve (or OPD) close both valves and you're done.

I made up a hose by fitting a regular bulk tank to appliance adapter:

with a 1 pound refill adapter:

Works like a champ, and I get 3 fills for the price of 1!

The 10% screw is the slotted screw pictured here:

The standard disclaimers of no ignition sources, do not do aboard, wear gloves/goggles, etc apply
Old 11-12-2010, 13:18   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
And you also wear a flame suit while doing the transfer?
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 13:29   #3

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
They've been filling propane tanks by gravity for years in the Bahamas.
Old 11-12-2010, 18:32   #4

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasco View Post