Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2011, 16:14   #1
Guest
 
otherthan's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 843
Images: 3
Offset Transom Rudder Mount ...???

I am about to instal a secondary tiller on my hinterhoeller 28...I know the boat alredy has a skeg-rudder, but this transome rudder will be use as a back up should the original fail ( belive me it will eventualy)

sins I do not want to mess with my backstay my options are...to place the rudder in a slight angle or place it a few inches offset (not centerline with backstay)

your idea pleas!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	59606k4_20.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	27755  
__________________

__________________
otherthan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 17:04   #2
Registered User
 
Goomba's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haverhill, Ma
Boat: Lido 14
Posts: 18
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

What is you just put the hardware in the center, so you don't have to offset the secondary rudder, and simply attach it if your primary fails?
__________________

__________________
Goomba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 17:19   #3
Guest
 
otherthan's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 843
Images: 3
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goomba View Post
What is you just put the hardware in the center, so you don't have to offset the secondary rudder, and simply attach it if your primary fails?
the problem is my backstay is in the way...either I displace the backstay a few inches, or switch to a running backstay...or? bolt my new rudder a few inches to the side.

Tanzer's have backstays 4in off center to allow tiller mouvement...I am wondering if I can do the oposit and place my rudder 4in offset.
__________________
otherthan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 17:41   #4
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Why not?Viking steer-boards were offset..
Only thing that comes to mind is heeling, but a mere 4" shouldn't matter...also,it may be a bit cramped on the short side for the tiller and you hauling on it...ie:your seating isn't offset (or your compass view etc,were you to have this tiller offset even more)
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 18:04   #5
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,331
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Why not mount the rudder on the centerline but offset the tiller to clear the backstay.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 18:10   #6
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,864
Images: 4
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wotname View Post
Why not mount the rudder on the centerline but offset the tiller to clear the backstay.
I've seen this done, where the tiller has a dogleg in it allowing it to swing without hitting the backstay. As I recall, this was an emergency rudder.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 18:21   #7
Guest
 
otherthan's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 843
Images: 3
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wotname View Post
Why not mount the rudder on the centerline but offset the tiller to clear the backstay.
humm...cauld work I guess!!

or maybe give my old horse shoe a new life as a tiller bracket?
__________________
otherthan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 18:37   #8
Registered User
 
ozskipper's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NSW Australia
Boat: Traditional 30
Posts: 1,981
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Imho, you should Mess with the backstay. Put a small bridle on it. Lets face it, when you need that rudder to work, you will not want it to be inneficiant. Its a cheap option, You need two chain plates, a length of stainless wire rope, and a small purchase system.
http://i719.photobucket.com/albums/w...sailing/bs.jpg

This way your rudder will be free to work properly. Remember, its called an emergency rudder because you usually use it in an emergency. If its blowing 35 knots and you have a lee shore, do you really want to rely on a rudder that is only efficient on one tack.
__________________
Cheers
Oz
...............
ozskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2011, 18:56   #9
Guest
 
otherthan's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 843
Images: 3
Re: offset transome rudder mount...???

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozskipper View Post
Imho, you should Mess with the backstay. Put a small bridle on it. Lets face it, when you need that rudder to work, you will not want it to be inneficiant. Its a cheap option, You need two chain plates, a length of stainless wire rope, and a small purchase system.
http://i719.photobucket.com/albums/w...sailing/bs.jpg

This way your rudder will be free to work properly. Remember, its called an emergency rudder because you usually use it in an emergency. If its blowing 35 knots and you have a lee shore, do you really want to rely on a rudder that is only efficient on one tack.
looks like a good option
thers always something reasuring aboute having an extra chainplate.
__________________

__________________
otherthan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rudder

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right Rotating Prop with Propeller Shaft Offset to Starboard Bets Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 17-05-2015 11:11
Wind Vane with Transom-Hung Rudder colo.sail Construction, Maintenance & Refit 19 27-04-2014 19:23
Is a Skeg Necessary without an Inboard and with a Transom-Hung Rudder ? BudgieSmuggler Monohull Sailboats 27 21-03-2011 06:43
The CM93 Offset Feature cagney OpenCPN 5 26-11-2010 15:31
Hydrovane Offset and Davits? prohor Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 4 03-08-2010 11:28



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.