Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2016, 22:40   #1

Boat: West Potter 15
No fuss deck paint for small repair ...What to use?

Hello, Total beginner trying a project here. Need recommendation on what paint to use:

I want to repair a section of the deck to fix a poorly installed pulpit and also to reposition a vent. If all goes well, I will end up with several fiberglass layup sections along with some epoxy plugs. The total of the repairs cover approximately a square foot.

I am reading a lot of threads, but now my head is spinning from all the choices.

Post fiberglass repair, I think I need to prep/sand and then clean with acetone or ammonia and then I read about the 545 primer. If this is OK, the only thing left to find is a no-fuss durable top coat paint. Ideally it will match the aged white of the rest of the deck.

Can anyone share knowledge about the top coat paint ?

Many thanks!

Michael
West Potter 15
bostonmish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2016, 23:08   #2

Re: No fuss deck paint for small repair ...What to use?

Unless the area around the repair is already painted, you want to use gelcoat or it will be obvious, you painted the repair (even with gelcoat unless you are good at color matching, it will be visible).

Alternatively, you could paint the entire area. For ease, I suggest Interlux Brightside. It's not as tough as some of the 2 part paints but it's easy to apply with good results and if it does get dinged, it's easy to repair.
valhalla360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2016, 23:13   #3