Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-06-2011, 16:26   #1

Newbie Needs Help Figuring Out Cost to Restore Annapolis 30' (Rhodes)

Newbie here and in need for a help to figure out a budget (and overall feasibility) for restoring a 30’ Rhodes design sailboat from the 60’s. The boat was built in Annapolis and it appears to be an Annapolis 30 model (see here: ANNAPOLIS 30 (RHODES) sailboat on sailboatdata.com.. More than 6000 sailboats, sailing yachts, dinghies and sailing craft listed.) but some info that I got is that the different builder built this one for himself, so my guess is that he got plans from Olsen Marine after they stopped building them because the lawsuit by Philip Rhodes (see notes on the bottom of the linked page above).

Anyway… I am offered this boat for free to work on it and restore it, but I’m trying to figure out how much it may cost me to do that. Now, I understand that it is never finished and it can go from something to extreme… but I need to get me some numbers going first.

I am hoping that there are a lot of people with the experience in rebuilding, if nothing but parts of the boat. I’m also counting on owners of Alberg 30 that is very similar boat to this one and of the same era.

Here are few photos of the exterior and interior to get the feel for a current condition. Venus pictures by mvelimir - Photobucket The boat has been sitting like this for last 7-8 years and was a nice, cozy home to many families of mice as I discovered many nests as well as their droppings everywhere.