Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-06-2017, 12:22   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
bletso's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38
Posts: 679
Mast Conduit Conundrum

I have removed all my mast wiring and some of the conduit, but.... as you can see the manner in which the OEM secured the conduit in the mast seems to unique. Any ideas on how to remove these anchors. They have to have been put in place and then welded. They did such a good job that when I sanded the mast I can't find them from the outside!

Perhaps I can make a car to mount the multimaster to and cut them. I would make a snag but with my luck they would break in the wrong spot. I need to put in a larger conduit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0542.JPG
Views:	127
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	150312  
__________________

__________________
www.sailboatvigah.com Boats don't like being neglected, but then neither do significant others!
bletso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2017, 13:35   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lago de Izabal, Guatemala
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,925
Re: Mast Conduit Conundrum

How are you going to attach the new conduit?
__________________

Ecos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2017, 14:18   #3
Registered User
 
UNCIVILIZED's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Up the mast, looking for clean wind.
Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Posts: 5,629
Re: Mast Conduit Conundrum

I'd suggest leaving in place, and just adding a new PVC conduit along side it. Because no matter how cleanly you cut the anchors to the old one, there will still be short bits of them sticking up. And they'll have some degree of sharpness to them, which can & will damage anything inside of the mast. Including halyards, the new conduit, wiring, etc.

But if you "must" remove it, you could build a long, towable car who's shape matches the inside of the mast section, except that where it meets the mast in the vicinity of the conduit, you place a blade akin to a chisel/cold chisel. So that as you pull the car through the mast, it cuts the conduit free of it's anchors. And you'd need to build rollers into the car on all sides but for the one with the chisel, so as to facilitate it's easy movement through the extrusion.

Worst case "read the instructions", meaning contact the mast's manufacturer, & or, ask a couple of riggers.
__________________

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2017, 14:27   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW
Boat: Chamberlin 11.6 catamaran
Posts: 354
Re: Mast Conduit Conundrum

I would leave them there. With halyards and other conduit in there I would hate there to be any sharp points inside. You may be able to reuse them or ignore them. You won't ignore them if they cut your halyards.
catsketcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2017, 15:08   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
bletso's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38
Posts: 679
Re: Mast Conduit Conundrum

Nothing in the mast except conduit and the wires inside it. All my halyards are external. Leaving the old conduit in place is not a good option as at least one of the U's is broke loose about 30 ft up and allows the conduit to move about. The larger conduit will allow me to also place the vhf cable in the run. What they had done was tape pieces of foam along the vhf cable to mitigate slapping and ran it up the center of the mast.

Mast manufacturer? The boat is a 1979 Globe made in Taiwan

The mud in the mast was caused by a couple floods and the mast being knock to the ground. I didn't catch the mud until much later when I removed the foot.

AS far attaching the new conduit, probably fix with rivets every 3 ft or so.
__________________
www.sailboatvigah.com Boats don't like being neglected, but then neither do significant others!
bletso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 13:26   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
bletso's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38
Posts: 679
Re: Mast Conduit Conundrum

The solution turned out to be simple. I tried a cold chisel on the end of 1/2 pipe with only limited success on the first of the U shaped welded in straps. I then made a special piece to try and jerk them out form above. No luck. In the end a sort of epiphany. I took lengths of 1 inch electrical conduit and slipped the existing conduit inside of it and just rammed it up to the offending U assemblies, smack with a hammer and voilà, everything was free.

I wrestled for two days before I came up with the solution and in 20 minutes the job was done!!!
__________________
www.sailboatvigah.com Boats don't like being neglected, but then neither do significant others!
bletso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 14:36   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
maxingout's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cruising
Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only
Posts: 2,682
Re: Mast Conduit Conundrum

Well done. I will keep this in mind when I pull my mast and run new wires.
__________________

__________________
Dave -Sailing Vessel Exit Only
http://maxingout.com
http://PositiveThinkingSailor.com
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mast, rum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a Conduit in an Aluminum Mast SabreKai Construction, Maintenance & Refit 14 04-03-2016 21:03
Pulling Radar cable through conduit while mast is stepped Helios Marine Electronics 8 20-12-2013 14:04
Mast Conduit - Best Practice? Wotname Construction, Maintenance & Refit 17 28-08-2012 10:40
Pulling Wires Through Mast Conduit jr_spyder Marine Electronics 18 13-06-2012 09:52
Need a Larger Conduit in My Mast Extemporaneous Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 4 23-10-2009 13:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.