Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-08-2016, 11:49   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
bletso's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38
Posts: 501
mast conduit

OK, now I have a problem. I need to rewire the mast but one of the mast conduit retainers is bust. It appears the OEM welded in a series of U's to keep the conduit against the mast. I want to put all my wiring including the VHF in the same conduit which means I will have to up size the conduit. How do I accomplish this? I really don't want to go the welding route. Any idea's? I could make some special fasteners like the attached drawing if I can't find them. I am not sure a series of rivets would hold the conduit in place. The mast is 58 ft long.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0267.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	129893   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0266.JPG
Views:	52
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	129894  

Click image for larger version

Name:	fastener.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	396.2 KB
ID:	129895  
__________________

__________________
www.sailboatvigah.com Boats don't like being neglected, but then neither do significant others!
bletso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2016, 12:21   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Carrabelle, Florida
Boat: Self-built 44' steel trawler
Posts: 852
Re: mast conduit

Can you get a stainless steel u-bolt around the conduit and then out the side of the mast? If so, I'd go looking on McMaster-Carr or similar and then use the appropriate size PVC electrical conduit.
__________________

__________________
tkeithlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2016, 12:25   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
bletso's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38
Posts: 501
Re: mast conduit

A stainless U bolt would work once I figured where to drill the holes. It is trying to not put a big nut on the outside of the mast. I could use a slotted cap head cap nut if in SS.
__________________
www.sailboatvigah.com Boats don't like being neglected, but then neither do significant others!
bletso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2016, 14:06   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 10,642
Send a message via Skype™ to Jim Cate
Re: mast conduit

Pop rivets have successfully held conduits in place on my various boats for over thirty five years. if you use fairly large diameter rivets and space them a meter or so apart the support is pretty good.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II lying Aquatic Paradise Qld for a while.
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2016, 14:11   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
bletso's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38
Posts: 501
Re: mast conduit

That is certainly an easier solution. Thanks
__________________
www.sailboatvigah.com Boats don't like being neglected, but then neither do significant others!
bletso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2016, 05:33   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 30,950
Images: 240
Re: mast conduit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cate View Post
Pop rivets have successfully held conduits in place on my various boats for over thirty five years. if you use fairly large diameter rivets and space them a meter or so apart the support is pretty good.
Jim
Indeed.
See ➥ Installing a Conduit in an Aluminum Mast
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mast

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a Conduit in an Aluminum Mast SabreKai Construction, Maintenance & Refit 14 04-03-2016 21:03
Pulling Radar cable through conduit while mast is stepped Helios Marine Electronics 8 20-12-2013 14:04
Mast Conduit - Best Practice? Wotname Construction, Maintenance & Refit 17 28-08-2012 10:40
Pulling Wires Through Mast Conduit jr_spyder Marine Electronics 18 13-06-2012 09:52
Need a Larger Conduit in My Mast Extemporaneous Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 4 23-10-2009 13:46


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.