Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 09:48   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
Blue Stocking's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Georges, Bda
Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Posts: 4,115
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Agree with fstbttms on the hammer. My zincs are Canadian made, and have a small cuprous button inbedded in the shaft contact area. Hammer blow shapes this to shaft surface.
__________________

__________________
so many projects--so little time !!
Blue Stocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:45   #17
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Stocking View Post
Agree with fstbttms on the hammer. My zincs are Canadian made, and have a small cuprous button inbedded in the shaft contact area. Hammer blow shapes this to shaft surface.
Is that what that little ball thing is on the inside!
__________________

__________________
Chris
SailMentor.com - Become the Confident Skipper of Your Own Sailboat
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:50   #18
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
They now sell precise fit zincs that don't need hammering anymore. Used them for the first time this year and like them.

You must check if the isolation transformer really blocks the shore ground wire. When I did that, I was shocked to find they wired it wrong and isolation had been defeated with a jumper.
Wow. My PO was a bit of an idiot, so I'll check that out.
__________________
Chris
SailMentor.com - Become the Confident Skipper of Your Own Sailboat
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 11:01   #19
Moderator
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,184
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by fstbttms View Post
Correct. A 16oz. claw hammer will do the job.
I thought the recommendation was to use two hammers, holding one hard against one half of the anode, and striking the other half with the secind hammer.
Alternatively, would a good quality clamp achieve the same result?
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 12:04   #20
Marine Service Provider
 
fstbttms's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Posts: 3,594
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigel1 View Post
I thought the recommendation was to use two hammers, holding one hard against one half of the anode, and striking the other half with the secind hammer.
Alternatively, would a good quality clamp achieve the same result?
No offense, but that doesn't even make sense. The shaft is going to keep the zinc from moving. There is no need for additional bracing with a second hammer.

You simply mount the zinc and start the screws- they don't even have to be tight. Then give one halve of the zinc five or six good blows with the hammer. Rotate the shaft and give the other halve the same treatment. Then drive the screws in as tight as you can by hand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigel1 View Post
Alternatively, would a good quality clamp achieve the same result?
That's not a technique I would recommend.
__________________
fstbttms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 16:08   #21
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by fstbttms View Post
This is news to me. Who is "they"?
Martyr. The new ones have a "100% circular" opening and with a clean straight shaft, you can leave the hammer at home.

I always used Martyr and I believe I have had mis-labled ones too now and then. a 30mm will never fit a 1-1/4" shaft for example. I have seen both mixed in the same bin.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 16:31   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 98
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by fstbttms View Post
Rapid zinc depletion is most likely due to an issue aboard your own boat. Look there first.

What brand zincs are you using?
Dumb question: How do you do this? What are the search terms here...I'm sure it's explained somewhere, I can't find it.
__________________
67Therapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 20:08   #23
Marine Service Provider
 
fstbttms's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Posts: 3,594
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Martyr. The new ones have a "100% circular" opening and with a clean straight shaft, you can leave the hammer at home.

I always used Martyr and I believe I have had mis-labled ones too now and then. a 30mm will never fit a 1-1/4" shaft for example. I have seen both mixed in the same bin.
As I am sure I have mentioned before- I am not a fan of Martyr zincs. I'll take your word that these new ones work as advertised. But I dont use Martyr because my main supplier no longer carries them, because I don't care for the fasteners they use and maybe most importantly, because they are made in China.
__________________
fstbttms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 20:18   #24
Registered User
 
Oceanride007's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Boat in Whitsundays, heading south.
Boat: Custom Perry Passport 41, steel
Posts: 339
Re: Loose shaft zinc

If your any anodes are corroding away quickly, maybe get a bigger one that you can hang over the side when stopped and connected to your Engine block. Its easier to replace. Also if you do have Isolating Transformer do as Jedi says, make sure that shore earth wire is connected on primary side only. Save your worm clamp just in case the anode does move up the shaft.
__________________
Oceanride007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 20:52   #25
Marine Service Provider
 
fstbttms's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Posts: 3,594
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceanride007 View Post
If your any anodes are corroding away quickly, maybe get a bigger one that you can hang over the side when stopped and connected to your Engine block. Its easier to replace. Also if you do have Isolating Transformer do as Jedi says, make sure that shore earth wire is connected on primary side only. Save your worm clamp just in case the anode does move up the shaft.
If the OP is burning thru zincs as quickly as seems to be the case, there is an electrical issue that needs to be found and corrected. Adding more zinc is simply a band-aide. And properly installed shaft zincs shouldn't need to be held in place with a hose clamp.
__________________
fstbttms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2014, 09:49   #26
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Well, that was unpleasant!

I finally got up the courage to go in the water yesterday. It took a long time to get the feeling back in my fingers and toes afterwards, but the job is done.

Of the two zincs I'd installed, only one was left and it was hanging on by one half installed screw. The other was gone. It was only mildly pitted, but who knows how long it had been in poor electrical contact for.

So I brought the hammer down and did the job right this time (I hope). Thank you all for educating me.

Oh, and fstbttms, it is a Reliance Canada zinc, in answer to your question.
__________________
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2014, 09:52   #27
Marine Service Provider
 
fstbttms's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Posts: 3,594
Re: Loose shaft zinc

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwyckham View Post
Oh, and fstbttms, it is a Reliance Canada zinc, in answer to your question.
Them's the goods.
__________________

__________________
fstbttms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.