Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 30-05-2011, 16:27   #1

Keel Repair - PICS

I just bought my first sailboat. Took it out of the water and found this big hole on the keel.

I am a newbie on this world but I am good with my hands.
How bad does it looks? Can I fix it on my own or do I need some professional to do it?

What would be the procedure?

Old 30-05-2011, 18:23   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Keel repair - PICS

wow...I assume that is the leading edge. Looks like it hit something hard enough to hole the keel cavity and split the hull. Hull may have been built with a seam at the center. More info needed. If you are not taking on water then I guess it's going inside a keel cavity sealed at the top (?). Are there any loose iron punchings or other ballast things in there? (flashlight). The hard part will be drying it out. (enclose the keel hole with visqueen and use an air conditioner for a few of days to dry it out??) Fair the glass to a feather edge, after cutting your glass pieces ahead of time in larger and larger pieces, wet the existing ground areas with resin mix, then glass it good. Grind smooth to match the shape. If that cavity is hollow I would consider filling it with something....grind the split portion concave and fill with glass/resin. The key being to grind enough to as much fresh bonding area as possible. (check out boat glass repair on line for more details)

Old 30-05-2011, 18:33   #3
Do… or do not

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64

Time to call a lawyer because the previous owner should have disclosed that.

ciao!
Nick.
Old 30-05-2011, 19:17   #4
sitting on the dock of the bay

Send a message via Yahoo to gonesail

uh .. you didn't haul the boat before you bought it?
Old 30-05-2011, 19:41   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1969 Pearson 35 #108 & 1976 Sabre 28
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi