Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2016, 18:34   #1

Boat: a sailing boat
Is an MSP Adhesive an Alternative to Polyurethanes?

Can anyone confirm or deny MSP adhesives can be used in place of products like 3M 5200, Sika 291, etc.

Basic info:

Modified silane adhesive - MS polymers

I can get Bostik MSP here. I am sick and tired of paying $$ for that 291 (s--t) or $$$ for otherwise excellent 3M.

Thanks in advance,
barnakiel
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2016, 20:11   #2

Boat: Seafarer36c
Re: Is an MSP Adhesive an Alternative to Polyurethanes?

[QUOTE=barnakiel;2191734]Can anyone confirm or deny MSP adhesives can be used in place of products like 3M 5200, Sika 291, etc.

Wow, "I'm Doctor Science, I have a masters degree in science", even I don't know.
model 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2016, 20:23   #3

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!

It’s a very intriguing question. And honestly I'm quite curious to know. Perhaps it's one best answered by a materials scientist or a chemist, like Leftbrainstuff. But a layman could gather enough information to make a very good educated guess.

I’d want to see both the technical chemical information on the two, which listed their key ingredients. Both for what they’re composed of when in the cartridge, & after they cure. So that you can find out such things as what they use as carrier solvents (if that’s the correct term), which is essentially; the delivery system in a paint (or this adhesive), & what evaporates out of paint as it cures, plus it also chemically etches the surface to which the solids (paint or adhesive) will be bonding to.