Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-06-2017, 11:04   #1

Boat: 88 36' Hunter
Interior Help

We just purchased a 1985 36' Hunter. We have several projects I want to get done prior to splash. My biggest quandary at the moment is this; the interior hull walls are currently covered in a weird flocked fabric that is beyond disgusting. I want to recover all the areas. Any thoughts? Suggestions? Ps.... I'm a complete sailing newbie.... so please be nice

Kim
flblowfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2017, 12:34   #2

Boat: Seafarer36c
Re: Interior Help

What you are calling the "walls" is actually called the ceiling in a boat. How about stripping it off and replacing it with it with a fabric you like. Use spray on contact cement for headliners
model 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2017, 12:37   #3

Boat: Sceptre 36

Peel it off carefully so as to have a pattern. It is called Hull Liner and is relatively cheap from any marine upholstery shop. Use the old one as pattern and use spray contact cement (nasty stuff) to bod on the new.
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2017, 12:39   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy View Post
What you are calling the "walls" is actually called the ceiling in a boat. How about stripping it off and replacing it with it with a fabric you like. Use spray on contact cement for headliners

So, the ceiling isn't the ceiling?? It's the walls? The curved sides of the boat? Then what do you call the actual ceiling? Where the hatches are? I'm looking for something a little more upscale. I've though about doing a lightweight vinyl, lightly padded with decorative buttons. I'm just not sure how to go about doing that or if I even could....
Old 18-06-2017, 12:54   #5

Boat: Former owner of a Valiant V40