Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-12-2011, 03:40   #1
Registered User
 
SteveT's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Portishead UK
Boat: Dudley Dix Hout Bay 33
Posts: 139
Installing a Monitor Windvane

I've bit the bullet and bought a new Monitor wind vane designed to fit my boat. Scanmar have provided a detailed set of installation instructions but what I would like to know are there any specific pitfalls that others have encountered installing this system?

Note - I already have the Monitor so don't need advice that I should have got X, Y, Z instead!

Thanks in advance for any info.
__________________

__________________
SteveT
Somewhere at sea
SteveT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2011, 05:02   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 5 Mile River
Boat: Bristol 41.1 Keep on Dancin'
Posts: 539
Re: Installing a Monitor Windvane

Measure, measure, then measure again. Then, check the measurements. Use tape, cable ties, anything else you can think of, before drilling and mounting blocks for control lines. Think it all out, then you will discover the bulk head where that bolt has to go. When that happens, punt.
__________________

__________________
keepondancin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2011, 06:29   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Boat: Mason 43
Posts: 138
Re: Installing a Monitor Windvane

Congratulations, I love my Monitor. Keep the phone number for Scanmar handy, they are the largest data bank of experience and I have found them very willing to help. This will soon become the most valued piece of equipment on your boat. As you set up your control lines visualize cockpit traffic and any area that you used to store something on deck that might interfere with them.
__________________
jmackay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2011, 10:12   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,827
Re: Installing a Monitor Windvane

For best performance, keep friction on the lines from the wheel clutch to the oar to a minimum.
The fewer changes in direction, the better.
On our Lord Nelson 35, the wheel clutch lines went straight down to a couple of turning blocks at the base of the pedestal, then back through a watertight tube exiting the hull at the lower end of the Monitor legs.
It took a lot of measuring and eyeballing to get the tube just right before drilling out the hull, but it worked wonderfully.
I had an extra block welded there to allow one of the lines to cross to the other side.
We never had to step over lines, or disconnect anything when the vane was not in use, and the vane worked down to 4 knots of boat speed through the water.
__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2011, 10:20   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Now in Blaine, WA
Boat: Modified Choate 40
Posts: 10,702
Images: 122
Re: Installing a Monitor Windvane

Read the instructions a couple times before the install and just follow them to the T. All will be well.

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boom_out.JPG
Views:	141
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	35274  
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 05:52   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
xsboats's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St.Augustine ,Fl., USA
Posts: 204
Re: Installing a Monitor Windvane

Check for pics of installs of Monitors on sisterships to your boat on the Scanmar website. You may see a variation on the install that suits your needs.
__________________

__________________
xsboats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor, windvane

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for Help Installing Radar shamrock Commercial Posts 0 04-10-2011 06:43
Question on Installing 240vac Outlets mikerayburn Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 16-09-2011 09:51
Installing Telltales eegrek Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 06-09-2011 05:29
Plugin Help rooiedirk OpenCPN 19 26-07-2011 07:20
Installing Two Bulkheads - How To Anchor Them to their Footings ? James Dieterich Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 04-07-2011 14:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.