Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2014, 07:38   #1

Hull/Keel Maintenance Advice for Newbie

I just bought my first boat, a Catalina 25, and had it hauled out yesterday. I plan on sanding and painting this weekend. But, before I dive in head first, I would like some advice from those with more experience. I am brand new to this.

I didn't see any blisters or cracks on the hull. However, it looks like the keel has corroded where the paint has come off.
Should I just scrape this away or try to sand it?
Does the hull even need sanding? or just clean and paint over?
Any recommendations for ablative?
Where do people buy the protective coveralls?
Should I buy 3 quarts or a gallon of paint?

Attached are some pics of the hull and swing keel.

Any advice, comments, recommendations appreciated.
Thanks,
Ryan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-04-17 19.20.21.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	424.9 KB
ID:	79547   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-04-17 19.20.43.jpg
Views:	282
Size:	432.1 KB
ID:	79548  

Name:	2014-04-17 19.20.55.jpg
Views:	413
Size:	426.6 KB
ID:	79549  
ryan865 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2014, 07:58   #2

Boat: Roughwater, pilot house, 58 ft
Re: Hull/Keel Maintenance Advice for Newbie

I sand the bottom each time we pull, before applying the new bottom pain. The reason is not to built up to thick of bottom paint, and make sure the hull is clean so the bottom paint sticks. As for blisters if they are smaller than a dime, I just break them, sand and paint. Be careful as blisters are very toxic. If the blisters a bigger and deeper then sand, epoxy before bottom paint.