Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-10-2014, 06:17   #1

Boat: Långedrag steel, 1988, 40ft
Filler over steel

Hi there,

The toerail on our steel boat seems to be welded on and the welding edge covered with a several mm thick white, chalkish filler material. On some spots, the filler had cracks and lifted up the surface and we checked what's underneath those cracks (screwdriver, angle grinder with steel brush) - that's how we discovered that the toerail is a separate piece welded on. Some areas had rust under, not too bad, and some didn't. In some areas, the filler lifted up, but left the primer on the steel.

Now we are stuck with primed spots which are a few mm deeper than the surroundings. That's ugly, but I suppose not bad for the steel per se? As an amateur I am wondering about the function of such a filler other than aesthetics. It feels like it would be better for us and the boat if it was not filled up and smoothed out, such that everything is visible and no crevasses collecting water can occur. A similar thing goes for teak cockpits and ornaments. Any opinions on that?

Cheers,
Phil
phipseml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2014, 06:54   #2

Boat: Custom Freya 20m
Re: Filler over steel

I agree that fillers can be problematic if not done 100% and maybe trouble even then. If the hull is fair then live with imperfection. For detailing then can manage without.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
stillbuilding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2014, 07:30   #3

Boat: Tahitiana 32