Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-07-2008, 09:49   #1
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,777
extending a furling line

OUr boat came with a new furling line, but it is too short, especially now that we just added a Harken block system on the stantions.

It is 1/4" double braid. Am I asking for trouble by spicing an additional length on it? I have never done an end-to-end splice, only eye splices.

Chris

PS - It looks to be single braid class I
__________________

__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 10:05   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,140
Splicing two lines together will result in a slightly larger diameter at the splice. Will this run through the blocks? I would feel better replacing the line with a line of sufficient length. In addition it's been my experience that it is very difficult or nearly impossible to splice old double braid. Get a new line.
__________________

__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 10:20   #3
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,777
I know I would feel better replacing the line, but if the strength is ok, and it runs fine, then I am ok with it. How much bigger should I expect the splice to be in diameter?

The line has been on the boat for three months. It is not as supple as new line, but not super stiff either. I know what you mean about splicing old line.
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 10:35   #4
GreatKetch
Guest

Posts: n/a
1/4" line? How do you pull on it without slicing your hands open?

Your original post is a bit ambiguous, is it single braid or double? Single braid is easier, double braid tougher, but both can be end-to-end spliced. I have an endless loop on my mainsheet blocks that I made by end splicing double braid.It doesn't double in diameter, rather it goes up about 50%, so your 1/4 inch line would have a diameter at the splice of about 3/8"

Usually the best source of information about how to splice is the line manufacturer's website.

PS: If the line is not too old you can make it a bit easier to work with by soaking in water and fabric softerner, then rinsing well. It doesn't work miracles, but it helps.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 11:28   #5
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,777
Oops, I meant it is double braid. 3/8 might be too thick to pass through the last block, the only one it would need to. The Harken catalog does not list the max line size for their Lead kit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatKetch View Post
1/4" line? How do you pull on it without slicing your hands open?

Your original post is a bit ambiguous, is it single braid or double? Single braid is easier, double braid tougher, but both can be end-to-end spliced. I have an endless loop on my mainsheet blocks that I made by end splicing double braid.It doesn't double in diameter, rather it goes up about 50%, so your 1/4 inch line would have a diameter at the splice of about 3/8"

Usually the best source of information about how to splice is the line manufacturer's website.

PS: If the line is not too old you can make it a bit easier to work with by soaking in water and fabric softerner, then rinsing well. It doesn't work miracles, but it helps.
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 11:54   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
FrankZ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 35 Bellesa
Posts: 13,565
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by witzgall View Post
Oops, I meant it is double braid. 3/8 might be too thick to pass through the last block, the only one it would need to. The Harken catalog does not list the max line size for their Lead kit.
Which kit did you buy? Is it the carbo kit or the other?

If you have the carbo kit which size? The 40mm blocks are up to 3/8 line and the 57mm kit is 7/16.

I can't seem to find the kit I have, I suppose it is the older one which uses the regualr blocks and not the carbo but I belive those blocks are for 5/16 line.
__________________
Sing to a sailor's courage, Sing while the elbows bend,
A ruby port your harbor, Raise three sheets to the wind.
......................-=Krynnish drinking song=-
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 11:55   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
FrankZ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 35 Bellesa
Posts: 13,565
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatKetch View Post
1/4" line? How do you pull on it without slicing your hands open?

My furler uses 1/4 and it is just fine. There isn't really much load, if any, on the line when I start to furl. Of course with a bigger sail it might be different.
__________________
Sing to a sailor's courage, Sing while the elbows bend,
A ruby port your harbor, Raise three sheets to the wind.
......................-=Krynnish drinking song=-
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 13:18   #8
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,777
It is the carbo kit. I just re-checked the Harken catalog and it says 3/8
max for both. So I think I'll try to splice the line and see how it works.
WM has 30% off bulk line right now, so I can go up to the Raleigh store on
Friday and pick up 10-13 feet, which is all that I need to add.

Chris
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 13:56   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
Alan Wheeler's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marlborough Sounds. New Zealand
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Posts: 8,038
Images: 102
Don't splice, replace. The cost of a new line is not worth the problems that could arise if something goes wrong. And if something goes wrong, it is when you need the gear to be most reliable. Replace it and be done with it. Use the old one for spare line for tie down or throw line or what ever. It will surprise you how often you will use it when you have it.
__________________
Wheels

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 14:13   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Wheeler View Post
Don't splice, replace. The cost of a new line is not worth the problems that could arise if something goes wrong. And if something goes wrong, it is when you need the gear to be most reliable. Replace it and be done with it. Use the old one for spare line for tie down or throw line or what ever. It will surprise you how often you will use it when you have it.
I could not say it better. Oh sure lets save a few bucks on a piece of line. So what if it costs us sooo much more later on.
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 15:32   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,596
Images: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Baier View Post
I could not say it better. Oh sure lets save a few bucks on a piece of line. So what if it costs us sooo much more later on.
3/8" Sta-Set @ about $0.35 Foot.
I wouldn't waste my time on a splice, to save under $20.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 16:06   #12
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,777
I am not cheap, I just try and not spend when it is not needed. ;>
Gordm where are you seeing 3/8 sta-set for .35 a foot?


Chris
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 16:42   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,596
Images: 240
35 cents was just a WAG.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2008, 19:37   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Sorry, it's being too cheap. If it fouls in a stuff breeze you'll regret it and perhaps pay dearly. This is a pretty cheap item to mess with and usually an easy item to fix. You don't get that many. The time to do a good splice is longer than the the time to replace so you are not saving any time. You really don't need sta-set. Ordinary double braid is enough. Once the line is out it sure can't stretch.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2008, 18:34   #15
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,777
OK, so maybe I am cheap. I'll buy the full length. Thanks for pushing me in the right direction.

Chris
__________________

__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extending Radar Cable bobs Marine Electronics 34 24-04-2011 20:20
Boom Furling irwinsailor General Sailing Forum 11 14-04-2011 11:10
In-Mast Furling shadow Monohull Sailboats 37 16-06-2009 15:29
Extending my transducer cables... Boracay Marine Electronics 4 05-08-2008 21:25
Auto-furling .... KC7CC Seamanship & Boat Handling 2 30-03-2007 01:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.