Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2009, 08:49   #1

Boat: Morgan 461
Engine Antifreeze for Winter Lay-Up

Hi all,

It's my first time winterizing a diesel, and I'm not too sure about what antifreeze to use.

Calder's book recommends propylene glycol as opposed to ethylene glycol, with the former being less toxic and relatively environmentally friendly.

Also, I've read posts in this forum that talk about "RV antifreeze" being used for engine winterizing (this type of antifreeze is always propylene glycol because it's meant for RV plumbing systems). But all the labels on the RV antifreeze jugs I found say it shouldn't be used for internal combustion engines.

I wasn't able to find engine antifreeze that's made of propylene glycol.

Is RV antifreeze ok for winter lay up, even if the label says it shouldn't be used for that?

I don't think the engine make and model matter much for antifreeze selection, but this is what I have: Yanmar 2GM, built in 1982.

One last thing: I thought that because I'll use propylene glycol I'd be able to just start the engine in the spring and let the exhaust system dump the antifreeze in the lake. Well, that's not true. It needs to be properly disposed of, just like any other antifreeze. Which begs the question: why use propylene glycol instead of ethylene glycol then?
enovillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 09:01   #2
S&S

Boat: 48' 1963 S&S yawl