Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2018, 07:20   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Mandurah Western Australia
Boat: Bruce Roberts Mauritius 43'
Posts: 7
Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

We are refitting our galley, and the only stove we could get in a decent size is designed to be installed as a solid fixture, I believe I can gimbal it bet the question came up as to weather it needs to be or not.
It seems to be difficult cooking either way.
We haven't been able to find a definite yes or no as to weather it's critical or not.
__________________

Just Awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 07:24   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,454
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

The stove only needs to be gimballed if you ever plan to cook while underway.



Seriously, unless it's gimballed it will be impossible to use at sea. Even at anchor if there's a bit of swell or someone rips by in a big powerboat tossing a wake being gimballed would be good.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 07:36   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 6,597
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Gimballed for sure. To press home the point, try boiling water at home with the stove tilted to 25 degrees, then shake the house.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 17:08   #4
Registered User
 
Fore and Aft's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gympie
Boat: Volkscruiser
Posts: 350
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Our stove is not gimballed on our 32 foot yacht. We only do day sails and it is never an issue.
The stove on my parents 45 foot trawler was never gimballed and we cooked and fished in all sorts of weather. The old man had a serious set of potholders that seemed to do the job.
Cheers
Fore and Aft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 17:19   #5
Moderator
 
Don C L's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Posts: 6,181
Images: 40
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

You can do it without gimballing... you just need really big pots that are only 1/4 full.
Actually I have seen folks who had a fixed 2 burner and then a little single gimbal for cooking soup or coffee while underway, and that is ok for short jaunts but really the best way is a gimballed stove/oven if you want to make a hot meal while underway.
__________________
DL
Pythagoras
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 17:22   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Wauquiez Pretorien 35
Posts: 279
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

What Skipmac said...
Souzag818 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 17:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Wauquiez Pretorien 35
Posts: 279
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fore and Aft View Post
Our stove is not gimballed on our 32 foot yacht. We only do day sails and it is never an issue.
The stove on my parents 45 foot trawler was never gimballed and we cooked and fished in all sorts of weather. The old man had a serious set of potholders that seemed to do the job.
Cheers
Pot holders only hold pots. They don't keep food in the pot...
Souzag818 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 18:06   #8
Registered User
 
svHyLyte's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa Bay area, USA
Boat: Beneteau First 42
Posts: 3,721
Images: 25
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Awesome View Post
We are refitting our galley, and the only stove we could get in a decent size is designed to be installed as a solid fixture, I believe I can gimbal it bet the question came up as to weather it needs to be or not.
It seems to be difficult cooking either way.
We haven't been able to find a definite yes or no as to weather it's critical or not.
Frankly old son, if you don't know enough that your would ask such a question, you don't yet know enough to attempt living on a boat, in a marina to say nothing of at sea. Get a few tens of miles at sea under your belt and then come back and ask questions. This won't be one of them....

The foregoing isn't "kind". It is so, however....
__________________
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 18:13   #9
Moderator
 
JPA Cate's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: aboard, cruising in Australia
Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Posts: 14,353
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Just Awesome,

IMO, gimballing does make life easier. That said, a fixed installation CAN work; friends who circumnavigated had one such in a 34 footer. You will accommodate, and make it work. Now, Jim and I have always had gimballed ones, and I think I prefer that. In either case, a pressure cooker is your friend.

Ann
__________________
Who scorns the calm has forgotten the storm.
JPA Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 18:33   #10
Registered User
 
Mike OReilly's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Good question
Boat: Rafiki 37
Posts: 5,366
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Do you absolutely need to have a gimballed stove? No. Will it make it harder to use underway? Yes. As Skip says, even some anchorages will be hard to cook in without a gimballed stove. Fiddles are useful, but are not as good as a gimbal. And I agree with Ann, a pressure cooker is awesome, regardless of gimbals.

How much of a challenge a non-gimballed stove is will depend on a lot of factors: What kind of boat? What kind of cruising do you do? Where do you cruise? And what kind of cook are you?

Boat life is all about tradeoffs. Only you can know what the right choice is for you. I can tell you, I like our gimballed stove. Makes cooking at sea a lot easier. And good food while underway is important for maintaining health and spirit of the crew. Don’t underestimate the importance of a good galley.
__________________
Why go fast, when you can go slow.
BLOG: www.helplink.com/CLAFC
Mike OReilly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 18:35   #11
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 3,376
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Unless it's gimballed it will be impossible to use at sea.
I cook on wood fire at sea. It is not gimbaled. It's not impossible.

Gimbaled stove would not work in rough conditions anyway. The pot has to lock to the stove, and the lid has to seal to the pot. Now you can make complete 360 and not spill food.
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 19:12   #12
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol RI
Boat: Cape George 31
Posts: 888
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

If you can mount it on centerline, athwartships and near the center, and get some good pot-clamps, you should be able to eschew gimbals. I have some tall narrow pots I use for cooking at sea because even a gimbaled stove gets sloshy when it's lumpy out. But I second the pressure cooker, and if I ever find other pots with lockable lids, I'm going to get them.
__________________
Ben
zartmancruising.com
Benz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 19:13   #13
registered user
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: plastic production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 462
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPA Cate View Post
Just Awesome,

IMO, gimballing does make life easier. That said, a fixed installation CAN work; friends who circumnavigated had one such in a 34 footer. You will accommodate, and make it work. Now, Jim and I have always had gimballed ones, and I think I prefer that. In either case, a pressure cooker is your friend.

Ann
Ann, Benz, Mike and others are 100% right, however even a pressure cooker, on a gimballed stove, in potholders, still managed to "fly'; contents were saved by the secure lid but handle broke, and dented the cabin sole..... Anyway, cook when you can, then you don't have to do that when weather deteriorates.

Addit: "Just Awesome", just noticed you're not far from where I am, send me a PM if you like
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 19:21   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 4,635
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

In what context do you mean “NEED.”

Our 33’ boat had a non gimballed stove for 35 years until some AH surveyor wrote it up as non ABYC compliant on an insurance survey. He also found the 35 yo stern light had to be moved and sternly “let me go” over the fact that I had 2 GC batteries I. A steel boat and that was “not right at all”, you “need” a single 12 volt cell.

So I “needed” to change my stove mount.

BTW, folks like Dickenson sell diesel stoves for boats. None are gimballed. I don’t think it’s even possible. Ditto wood.
hpeer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 20:49   #15
Registered User
 
fourlyons's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Boat: 39' Custom built junk rigged cat ketch
Posts: 21
Re: Do stoves need to be gimballed on a mono

No, the stove doesn't "need" to be gimballed, I have sailed many miles at sea over 20 years without, and we do cook. Having said that, I have also delivered boats with gimballed stoves and they are nice, nice enough I have decided to gimbal mine.

In my experience, it's more important where in the boat the stove is installed and the motion of the boat in a seaway. But yes, gimbals are nice.

You can usually add them to a fixed installation with some work.
__________________

fourlyons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stove

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gimballed Table sunbear1 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 10 12-09-2018 05:55
Cats vs Mono..why a mono Duke95 General Sailing Forum 191 28-07-2015 01:20
For Sale: Balmar Gimballed Propane Stove thesparrow Classifieds Archive 3 20-03-2012 09:24
Want To Buy: Single Burner Gimballed Propane Stove trimming out Classifieds Archive 5 22-07-2011 21:34
Gimballed Kerosene Hurricane Lantern bcguy Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 18-05-2009 12:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.