Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 26-06-2016, 23:30   #1

DIY bowrail

Hi Everyone

I wanted to have a custom made bowrail made for the boat I was
renovating at the time but found the cost of having it made locally was to great, and the inconvenience of getting the boat to a fabrication shop was also a problem. So I decided to have a go at it myself. I should add that I have had some experience with steel fabrication in the past but had never done any work of this type with stainless steel tube before this.

I first began by searching the web for info and came across the following video on youtube which solved a lot of the bending problem for me. Very useful video, many thanks to "LiveDontWatch" for making it.

Using the ideas shown in the video I made myself a similar setup (with a few modifications) which I will explain below with some of the photos I took at the time.

I made the bender out of scrap steel and wood and as you'll see in the photos the steel is a bit heavy duty but it's all I had laying around at the time. To make the large, and small, tube bending timber discs I used some scrap marine plywood but found the pressure needed to bend the tube to be too great for the smaller disc so I later made another one out of a scrap slab of hardwood. (if you wanted to use this setup on a continual basis it would be better to make the discs from aluminium I think). I also packed the tubing with dry sand and plugged the ends before I began. I'm not really sure if the sand was needed though.

As my boat was taking up the whole of my shed space I had to set up my workbench outside with a temporary router table to make the discs. I made the discs as per the video using a router with a cove bit. After I assembled the bender apparatus I clamped it solidly to my work bench then tried it out a few times on some scrap S/S tubing before tackling a full length for the bowrail. ...See photos below-