Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 03-04-2012, 00:03   #1

Boat: 1989 Hunter 30 soon to be Ceres
Diesel Fuel Polishing

I want to build a diesel fuel polishing system using a fuel pump from and car or truck to pick up the fuel from my tank and deliver it to a filter/separator and back into the tank. I would like to use my batteries to power the pump. I would run the fuel pump from my battery bank as they are being charged while setting idle in the slip).

I know there are significant issues that I have not thought of as I am not a mechanic nor am I particularly mechanically inclined by nature.

My engine is a 2GM20F 18 hp Yanmar; it has a small Ronco separator/filter in line with the fuel system to the engine. I know the separator/filter must be effective to some extent as the engine runs and I know there is a large quantity of water in the tank along with a lot of debris and all the microbials that inhabit such an environment.

What do you see as the major obstacles to the successful completion of this project and a suggested approach to each, please?

Thank you,
Steve

Old 03-04-2012, 01:14   #2

Boat: 50ft powercat, light,long and low powered
Re: Diesel Fuel Polishing

Have you tried the search function?
Plenty of information on this and some done quite recently

Here, fill your boots

Fuel polishing search

Old 03-04-2012, 09:37   #3

Boat: 1989 Hunter 30 soon to be Ceres

Thanks for taking the time to make a reply.

I have searched this site for specific answers to my many questions and have discovered none; to include using the reference you supplied-it turned up "no matches."

I believe such a homemade device can be properly built; I believe there is more to completing the project than meets the eye. That's why I am asking if anyone has actually done this successfully.

In an attempt to keep it simple and get started, please help me find a way to answer the following two (2) questions: