Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2016, 16:18   #1
Registered User
 
fstarocka's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 121
Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Just wondering if I could use a mast and boom from one yacht to another?

Obviously length being one aspect, and assuming the condition is good..

Could you redo standing rigging and service the internal components and be sort of there?

New masts cost almost the price of a used yacht so just weighing options..

Possible oday 321 for sale that dismasted.. Don't have exact details..

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
fstarocka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 16:27   #2
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK/Portugal
Posts: 20,202
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Yes.. may have to adapt the foot but they are transferable...
Alternatively.. make your own.. timber and epoxy..
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 16:27   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Victoria BC
Boat: 1980 Hunter 36
Posts: 675
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

I think it's pretty common actually
__________________
S/V Gudgeon
www.gudgeonblog.ca
alctel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 16:36   #4
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Orleans
Boat: We have a problem... A serious addiction issue.
Posts: 3,940
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

You can but...

Masts are engineered structures, so you need to do the engineering to ensure the new mast is strong enough to handle the loads of the boat. But if the new mast came off of a boat of comparable size and weight, then it will likely work fine.
__________________
Greg

- If animals weren't meant to be eaten then they wouldn't be made of food.
Stumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 16:47   #5
Registered User
 
fstarocka's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 121
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Great thanks, yes I would use one from a very similar size and compare heights as well..

Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk
__________________
fstarocka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 17:22   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Try to find a mast that is from a similar (displacement and size) boat. Some masts may match the length but be either too fine (e.g. racing boats) or too fat (thick, heavy) (e.g. heavy pig boats).

There used to be s/h spars at udkik.dk.

I have also seen quite a number of abandoned spars every time we hauled out our boat for painting ... so drive to the nearest boatyard, see what they may have and not want.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 17:47   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Out of Norfolk Va
Boat: Tartan 37
Posts: 449
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Deck step or keel step. Frac rig or standard. Spreaders straight or sweepback and how many. Runners, cutter rig, mast base, all things that you need to look at. The biggest is the balance and size of the rig. I got a small 23ft boat that was dismasted from an insurance claim and put a different (bigger) rig in it that I got from another total lost. It worked out well, the mast also came with a base, couple sails, standing & running rigging. Guy at our marina just sold a french made alum mast off a 40ft'er for $1000 this past fall, several looked at it and it didn't fit their boats.

Keep looking, people do it all the time. Don't get to caught up on the engineering, inspection and fit are more important, look at some of the sailboats out there around the world.

If this, worry


If this, no problem mon
__________________
puffcard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 08:54   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

just do it and work out the details later

I have seen a boat come across the pacific with a wooden telephone pole for the mast, having lost their rig in the islands
__________________
Smourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 09:39   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 112
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Yes, done it successfully. The smaller the boat, the more forgiving the engineering (roughly) but if it's a heavy large boat, you need to have a look at a similar mast and approx similar hull to get an idea of what you might have to alter. Or if you are setting off somewhere distant pay someone who knows to advise (shock!).....
__________________
out42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 09:53   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,352
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Yes, you just need to get one in the general crossectional size for the boat. Of course figuring out if the boom location will work, r if it ois changeable, cutting etc needs to be done. Spreader location isn't all that picky if a single spreader rig.. maybe +/- 2 ft will work often.
Yes, check boatyards. Sometimes boats get abandoned, cut up and the masts sit around for a while.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 10:37   #11
Registered User
 
ausnp84's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nazare, Portugal - heading south
Boat: Custom 43ft Steel Ketch but looking at catamarans....
Posts: 301
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Yep - very doable.... we just did it in fact. Had a schooner with 2 x 12m masts, now have a ketch with a 16m foremast.

I emailed just about every boat yard in the UK and found one at a mast supplier (Allspars) in the end. Cost 2500 for a Selden mast from a Sweden 390 (it was keel stepped, we cut the mast down so now it's deck stepped), we trucked it down to Portugal and got the work done.

Buy as complete a mast as you can (it's a PITA fitting winches, clutches, etc), we used sta loks so rigging the stays was VERY easy, and be prepared for upgrading everything (our bowsprit needed heavier chain for the lower support, and our old turnbuckles also needed replacing with heavier duty items). Also lines, etc - I think all in (including second hand sails, rigging, etc) it cost us about 14k.

Here's a pic of how I envisioned it looking:


And here's how it came out:

n
__________________
Off to the Caribbean after 5 years of building!!
svbluecalypso.blogspot.com
Blue Calypso on YouTube
ausnp84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 13:16   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Bellingham, WA
Boat: Bruce Roberts 44' Steel Mauritius
Posts: 577
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

First try to find an Oday that is trashed with a good mast. Shipping on mast shouldn't be that bad. Other options are possible but can lead to unforeseen problems that can be significant.
Personally I would look for another boat.
__________________
Mithril Bham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 16:06   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Boat: Stevens 47
Posts: 80
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

If you are on the east coast of the US, try Ad Listings - Used Boat Equipment. There are often used or surplus masts listed there. I bought one brand new for my son's Cheoy Lee Offshore 38 from Beneteau that was surplus, but brand new. I think it was for one of their 41s. In any case, it fit almost perfectly and cost $1900.
__________________
sainted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 17:19   #14
Registered User
 
Steady Hand's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Crewing All of 2017 Available Globally
Boat: OPB = Crewing in 2017
Posts: 4,851
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

To OP: you are in the PNW.

There is a boatyard in Seattle area that sells rudders, masts, and other parts from scrapped boats. Google or check Craig's list to locate or ask other yards, I cannot recall the name of it. Start local search.
__________________
Ahoy All Sailors! Need experienced crew for a passage or delivery in Atlantic, Pacific, Caribbean, Med, PNW, ICW, coastal or across an ocean anytime in 2017? I am available on 24hr notice. See my CF Profile "About Me" page for details. Happy to lend a hand!
Steady Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 17:20   #15
Registered User
 
Steady Hand's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Crewing All of 2017 Available Globally
Boat: OPB = Crewing in 2017
Posts: 4,851
Re: Can you use any mast from another yacht?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ausnp84 View Post
Yep - very doable.... we just did it in fact. Had a schooner with 2 x 12m masts, now have a ketch with a 16m foremast.

Here's a pic of how I envisioned it looking:



n
How many square feet of sail area did you gain?

For the Mainsail?
For the Genoa?
__________________

__________________
Ahoy All Sailors! Need experienced crew for a passage or delivery in Atlantic, Pacific, Caribbean, Med, PNW, ICW, coastal or across an ocean anytime in 2017? I am available on 24hr notice. See my CF Profile "About Me" page for details. Happy to lend a hand!
Steady Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mast, yacht

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Can Run but you Can't Hide Seymore Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 17 03-08-2014 13:48
Do you use a cheap camp stove to cook on? What kind of fuel does it use? magentawave Provisioning: Food & Drink 46 22-12-2013 20:12
LH and RH gear ratios in Volvo MS15A transmission -Can I use any of them to go ahead? svlamorocha Engines and Propulsion Systems 6 26-08-2013 21:41
Can I Use any Evaporator as a Replacement ? sgtPluck Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 17-05-2010 10:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.