Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2014, 18:13   #1

Balsa Core

Hello, Friends!
I want all your wisdom. I have raised this issue of balsa core a couple of times but never got much of an answer. I have sailed for over 65 years and have never experienced a boat that doesn't get wet -- yes, leaks, particularly from the top. Thus I cannot understand how designers can expect no water to find its way into and in between layers of fiberglass, especially with a spongy balsa core! And once the water gets in, it does not get out! So, brilliant idea to create a light boat (I used balsa as a kid to built model airplanes!), but why would I buy a used -- or even new -- sailboat with balsa in it, unless I wanted to keep it in my living room, God forbid that I should put it in water!
I am now wishing to find a small, easily singlehanded boat for a geriatric skipper (=me), something like a Beneteau First 235, or a Freedom 25 -- even a Nonsuch 22, if I could afford it and it wasn't so slow! But I suspect both the Beneteau and the Freedom are balsa cored.
Could you comment on the balsa issue? I HAVE done my research and read a lot about it -- very little in its defense. Also, do you have any suggestions for my choice of a boat?
I would be extremely grateful for your advice.
Ernest
Ernest Skublics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 18:33   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Balsa Core

The positives, balsa core in fiberglass construction will yield a stronger, lighter and stiffer hull than solid glass.

The negative, as you note, if it gets wet in the core then the balsa can rot and the layers of glass and wood delaminate.