Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-10-2010, 10:07   #1

Boat: CHEOY LEE, GW42, 42', BELLISSIMA
Autopilot

An autopilot for a J-40.....any suggestions? Displacement is 18000. I have taken a look at some wheel driven autopilots - none of which are rated for an 18000 boat. I would prefer an autopilot below decks. Any suggestions to where I should redirect my search? thanks, bb
bill brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2010, 10:19   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sabre 28-2
I'm no expert, but the general rule of thumb seems to be to go for the next size bigger (and more expensive, unforunately) than recommended. Most manufacturers will give a displacement range for the unit.
Old 27-10-2010, 10:21   #3

Thanks, wondering about specific manufacturers - - how they are rated? And input on below deck autopilots. bb
Old 27-10-2010, 10:37   #4
Eternal Member

W-H Autopilots. P3 model. Rugged. Reliable. Not outrageously expensive. Excellent technical support.

WH Autopilots

Talk to Will Ham.

(Not affiliated with them, just a very happy customer).

Bill
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2010, 10:43   #5

I'l second that. Good stuff, we are very happy with ours also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by btrayfors View Post
W-H Autopilots. P3 model. Rugged. Reliable. Not outrageously expensive. Excellent technical support.

WH Autopilots

Talk to Will Ham.

(Not affiliated with them, just a very happy customer).

Bill
Joli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2010, 10:44   #6

Excellent! I have emailed Will. Thanks, bb
Old 27-10-2010, 11:19   #7

Boat: gulfstar ketch 41 Surya
I have researched this and settled on a comnav 1420. I am installing this system as we speak. My boat had a navico autopilot with hydraulic ram which is being removed.