Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2008, 18:23   #1
Registered User
 
pogo's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 94
Are transducers interchangable?

I bought an older boat and it has a number of wires from a few transducers but somewhere the instruments have long since been gone.

The bow in front of the keel, and inside houses a cylnder witha shot through the hull transducer in oil, electric lines are connected, but go no where any more.
Another transducer with speed wheel on it is mounted through the hull, again wires on it, but again, not hooked into anything. yep and there is another near the engine, same thing wires but no depthfinder.

Does anyone know if a depth finder can be wired to any transducer or must I get one from the factory for each seperate tranducer manu? Is there a difference in the actual transducer with no commonality between them?
__________________

__________________
pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 18:30   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Not all transducer will work with just any instrument head. Although some might, but usually the connector plug won't work and with some transducers it is not a good idea to cut and splice the cables. Only if you know what the model numbers are of the transducer can you try and find out what they are compatible with. Airmar makes almost all transducers for most every manufacturer so they can tell you if they will work, but you will need to give them the specifics. The older the transducer, the less likely it will work with newer equipment. That is if they even still work at all. You would be best served to just bite the bullet and by new units together.
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 02:16   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
AIRMAR Technology Corporation is the leading manufacturer and OEM supplier of marine transducers, including those for instrument manufacturers such as:
Furuno
Interphase
Standard Horizon
Nobeltec
Navionics
Garmin
Simrad
Northstar
Navman
Silva
Raymarine
Koden/Si-Tex
Lowrance
JRC
Brookes & Gatehouse

Maptech
Cmap
Geonav
Tacktick


Using the AIRMAR cross reference, you can find many kinds of product information:
Goto:
AIRMAR Cross-Reference Interface

Or Goto Airmar Marine Transducers:
Airmar Marine Products Home Page
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 03:31   #4
Registered User
 
salty_dog_68's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dunedin, Florida
Boat: PEARSON 422
Posts: 120
Images: 74
When I first bought my sailboat I did not plan on hauling it out until I sailed her home from Ft. Lauderdale. She had an old deptfinder/transducer that did not work and was no longer manufactured or sold in stores. I needed a depth sounder for the sail home but I did not want to haul the boat out just to install a new transducer. So, I bought just a cheap head from sailnet with the hope it would work. I had to splice the wires and "experiment" to get the right combination but it worked and continued to work for about a year. Of course I installed an all new unit at the next haul-out. Good Luck.
__________________
"be careful out there boss and stay on the trail. ther'se geurillas in them woods."
salty_dog_68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 20:47   #5
Registered User
 
pogo's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 94
WOW quick responses thanks.
I guess I should just bite the bullet....but

I will try to find some info on the "Airmar" site, in fact now that I think about it, I believe one of the cables was imprinted with "AIRMAR". Thank you.

"SALTY DOG" it looks like there are three wires inside the cables, I presume one to hot (+) one to ground (-) and the other ...uhhh? I have no idea.

Maybe I should just bite the bullet, but I really was hoping not to do it just yet...

Pogo
__________________
pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 22:39   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
Alan Wheeler's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marlborough Sounds. New Zealand
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Posts: 8,038
Images: 102
Depends on what the item is. A speed wheel can have three wires. P & N and the third is the actual data. A sounder transducer can be just as simple or a little more complex depending on what it was.
The transducers tend to be the cheaper item and to ensure you have compatable equipment, it would be far easier to buy new equipment and fit the through hulls that come with them.
__________________
Wheels

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 02:17   #7
Registered User
 
pogo's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 94
Wheels,
I think I have two other transducers floating around the garage. If I can find how to profit from them, rather than dispose of in the dump.....well think "Green".

Thanks for the advice, it does make sense.

Pogo
__________________
pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 11:15   #8
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,773
Any idea if a B&G hunter transducer (three wires) will work with A Simrad IS12 instument head, which is also three wires?

Chris
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 11:42   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Chris, You need to know the model number for the B&G unit transducer, then contact Airmar, the transducer manufacturer, and ask them. They are happy to provide you the answer. Good chance they are compatible. But the number of wires has nothing to do with compatibility.
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 12:29   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
Alan Wheeler's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marlborough Sounds. New Zealand
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Posts: 8,038
Images: 102
Witzgall, your best bet is to go to the Airmar site. On that site they have a list of what transducer they use for which and with circuit diagrammes (or at least they used to) of the wiring, so you can often take one model and use it for another unit. The big issue is in how the data is derived and sent. Many paddle wheels have a small transitor in the head that works as a switch and needs to be wired correctly. A sounder transducer is usually pretty standard, but the variances will be, frequency and power rating.
__________________

__________________
Wheels

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.