Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-04-2016, 10:53   #1

Boat: Aloha 34
Anchoring System Redesign

I am relatively new to the boating world and have just bought a used sailboat.
We have anchored once but it was an awkward affair and potentially dangerous.
I have decided to install an electric windlass but I am unsure of the best location for it, or type for that matter - albeit I am favoring a vertical type.

referencing the attached image for the current set up it occurred to me that I could:
1) move the new windlass to the left, which would be out of the way of the inner stay and be more in line with the anchor.

2) Permanently secure the left locker door and place the new windlass on top.

3) mount the windlass aft of the door and motor for windlass would be in V-berth cabinet.

I look forward to others experiences or viewpoints.
Thanks
brad
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boat windlass.JPG
Views:	250
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	122669   Click image for larger version

Name:	locker.JPG
Views:	226
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	122670  

bradpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2016, 11:33   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Re: anchoring system redesign

That looks like a Simpson Lawrence Sea Tiger 555 manual windlass and some, like me, consider it to be the best & most reliable option for anchoring with a 35' to 45' boat. Don't discount what you might be able to accomplish with the position of your bow roller on your anchor davit or the fair lead adjustment to accommodate your chain clearing that stay. Becoming accustomed to this equipment and anchoring procedures may be a far better solution than an entire re-design.