Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-03-2015, 05:46   #1

Boat: 1972. allied chance 30 30
allied chance 30 30 hardware

I'm a novice sailor. Grew up on bass boats,Jon boats,and spent a summer renting hobie cats on Panama City beach. I recently purchased a 1972 allied chance 30 30. It seems the previous owner pulled all the IOR rated hardware off,and replaced it with less hardy modern stuff,because every time I take her out I break something. Any ideas on where I can get reasonably priced replacements? The boat is great! Sails like a dream, but I'd like to get her beefed back up. Especially since the things that are Breaking are going under pleasnt sailing conditions. Don't want to find out what happens if things get extreme conditions. Does anyone know who supplied the hardware for the Allied company? Another question is,what the heck are all the extra halyards for? Figure 1 is for the spinnaker,but are the other two,including one on the forward edge of the mast that only goes about halfor way up? Any info on the boat,or leads to where I can get info on the number built (since my understanding is she's fairly rare),how you can tell what number hull I have,and possibly, the history of this particular vessel. Thanks,be interested in hearing anything Pertaining to the boat.
sailinbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2015, 06:12   #2

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23
Re: allied chance 30 30 hardware

What kind of hardware is braking? Be a bit more specific - replacements do not need to be like the originals, but able to take the loads and be properly installed.
There is an active Allied owners group in Yahoo - you may be able to find other Chance owners.

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/alliedboatco/info
SVTatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2015, 06:27   #3