Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-10-2012, 20:16   #1

Boat: 1978 cal 2-27
Ablative Or Hard Bottom Paint?

i will try to be as specific as possible.
i recently purchased my cal 2-27 and the next step in the journey of making her cruise ready is deciding on a bottom paint. we are planning on pulling her out asap. as i have never done this before i have been asking questions around the boatyard and at west marine (i think they are getting annoyed with me because i never purchase any of their over priced items) and have not yet gotten a straight answer (just alot of people trying to swindle me into a deal that i fear benefits them more than me). i intend to keep this boat moving and not pull her out (after this) too often (unless something terrible happens that forces me to *knock on wood*) which is the way to go? soft or hard paint? brand preferences? help.
lexilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 20:30   #2

Re: ablative or hard bottom paint?

Many threads on this subject: It's a toss-up. Your choice. I like hard ablative (heh) because it is easy to clean by diving, fast, no buildup (light), and very easy to re-coat at haulout. Downside's are it comes off quickly at the bow (anchor rode and flotsam), and where the prop wash hits it on the hull. Micron Extra.

For the paranoid in me: I chose it because a yard and a bottom-cleaning pro both said it was a bad choice...

You cannot avoid hauling the boat every few years and believe you are properly maintaining anything...it's a requirement for a proper boat.
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 20:50   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: We have a problem... A serious addiction issue.
Re: Ablative Or Hard Bottom Paint?