Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2007, 21:01   #1
cruiser

Boat: Whiting 29' extended "Nightcap"
You know you've become a sailor when...

The iron beast chokes & loses revs half way though the marina. Disregarding years of experience as a marine engineer I automatically hauled out the headsail & carried on. (those that know Bayswater will know how easy this is in a SW). Just had to have a brag about this as it seemed to me to be a turning point in my attitude to my chosen lifestyle. It does beg the question though, how many sailboats have foundered on a lee shore while the skipper was up to his elbows in grease instead of canvas?
Wrong forum? Fell free to shift it.
NoTies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 21:14   #2
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Good on ya, pwederell . . .

I salute you for your Carry On, Regardless spirit! I think you're right that some sailors have foundered on a lee shore, when they had a 5000 year old "engine" (their sails) neatly furled as they frantically tried to restart the auxiliary.

I was told long ago that furling the sails just because the engine is running and safe harbor is in sight is a mistake - you never know when the engine will pack it in (though we all know it will happen at the worst possible time!)

TaoJones
Old 10-06-2007, 22:38   #3