Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2015, 10:46   #16
Registered User
 
toddedger's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Boat: Morgan 27
Posts: 264
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

Cheechako is right. Balmar will tell you your wired up correctly, but juice leaks inside the regulator turning the engine alternator off when it senses the higher voltage. You need to add a relay in the path so the voltage at startup is not coming from the engine battery. You could also use an oil pressure sender to turn on the regulator with house voltage. Balmar says the current can't leak through in there regulator, but i've seen it more than once on two different Balmar regulators. Disconnect that power wire off of the engine regulator and you will see the tach start working as well ass the engine alternator.
__________________

__________________
toddedger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 11:26   #17
Moderator
 
sailorchic34's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Islander 34
Posts: 4,812
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtlx11 View Post
We have the same engine, the same display panel and the same problem.

Let me know if you get it fixed, my problem goes further in that nothing on my panel works apart from the starter button. No revs, no oil pressure alarm no temperature alarm and no water pressure.

I've checked all the connections and wires against the wiring diagram in the manual and it all looks good but nothing works.
Did you check the fuse on the wiring harnass located on the bell housing by the starter, White plastic thingy. A royal pain to replace as it takes two hands. to hold and close the fuse holder. I replaced mine and relocated it to a easier location to reach.
__________________

__________________
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 13:57   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: netherlands
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 40C
Posts: 1
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

On my h4je4 I have also a problem, with the rpm, only sometimes he starts to run as far as possible on the meter.. When I switch down the engine and restart again the measurement looks ok.
__________________
rein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 22:47   #19
Registered User
 
dtlx11's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Boat: Carter Concubine 33ft (10m)
Posts: 36
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorchic34 View Post
Did you check the fuse on the wiring harnass located on the bell housing by the starter, White plastic thingy. A royal pain to replace as it takes two hands. to hold and close the fuse holder. I replaced mine and relocated it to a easier location to reach.
I will certainly give that a try, I didn't know there was a fuse in there somewhere.
__________________
dtlx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 06:56   #20
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by theway View Post
Here is my Gauge (it's not pretty).

Any thoughts?

Attachment 95271
Yes! This one is easy

Your tacho is in the open... Notice the moisture drops on it? And the rust mark below it?

My tacho started being intermittent, in the way you describe, during and after rain... When the weather dried out it was better. So I built a plastic cover for the instruments. Fine for a while but now its died completely.

Had the electrician here the other day and he stick his thinggy up the tachos butt and the Sender is sending, but the little guy inside has vacated.

So its a new tacho for me, and looks like a new one for you. Can we get a bulk order discount???


Lol
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 07:14   #21
Senior Cruiser
 
S/V Antares's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Annapolis, Bahamas
Boat: 1983 Gulfstar 36
Posts: 1,249
Images: 1
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

The tacho is driven by the Magnetic pickup on the flywheel housing. It counts the flywheel teeth. 127 teeth per rev. You can use a voltmeter on AC and see if the sender is putting out. The senders have no moving parts and do not fail as a rule. Some of the newer Yanmars use a alternator AC tap to drive the tacho. f it is a bad tacho you will need to get one that will accommodate the high pulse rate. Most alternator driven tacho's are 6 or 12 poles and wil not work with the mag pickups.
__________________
Will & Muffin
Lucy the dog

"Yes, well.. perhaps some more wine" (Julia Child)
S/V Antares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 08:26   #22
Registered User
 
Sailorman Ed's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Boat: Polynesia 40/42
Posts: 685
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Sailorman Ed
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge group buy?

Quote:
you will need to get one that will accommodate the high pulse rate.
Quote:
Can we get a bulk order discount???
Looks like we need a source for these (other than Yanmar) Anyone got some sources?
__________________
Sailorman Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 16:22   #23
Senior Cruiser
 
S/V Antares's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Annapolis, Bahamas
Boat: 1983 Gulfstar 36
Posts: 1,249
Images: 1
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

VDO makes a programmable Tacho with an LCD hour meter

Programmable Tachometers with LCD Hourmeter | Cockpit International | By Series | Instruments VDO Marine Gauges
__________________
Will & Muffin
Lucy the dog

"Yes, well.. perhaps some more wine" (Julia Child)
S/V Antares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2015, 23:49   #24
Registered User
 
Boatyarddog's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Olympia, wa.
Boat: Mariner Ketch 32- 1979- hull 202
Posts: 632
Re: Yanmar RPM Gauge Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill good View Post
Very common problem. Pulse generator is from magnetic pickup on flywheel. 2 wires & the tacho needs a pos 12v & a earth back to the motor for the neg. Also the harness becomes brittle with age & heat. The two plugs & sockets are a source of intermittent problems.
Regards

That's what I've experienced with my 2gm20f Yanmar tach signal wires or sensor.


Sent from my iPad SV Cloud Duster
__________________

__________________
Boatyarddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rpm, yanmar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yanmar 4JH-TE RPM Issue msulc Engines and Propulsion Systems 6 29-01-2012 14:21
Replacement RPM & Engine Gauge Module for My Sagitta 30 captainteacup Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 3 23-03-2010 12:24
RPM's Yanmar 3GM engine bobelon Engines and Propulsion Systems 10 31-03-2009 11:42
Yanmar RPM Woes PaulM Engines and Propulsion Systems 24 12-11-2008 14:40
YANMAR 2GM RPM / OVERPROPPED QUESTION Northeaster Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 27-07-2008 19:24



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.