Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2012, 20:54   #1

Boat: Catalina 470
Yanmar 4JH3-TE injector removal

Has anyone removed injectors from this model Yanmar, and are there any special considerations? I'm taking the injectors to the yanmar dealer for rebuild, but was wondering if the removal of the injectors was a job that I might be able to do on my own. I am a moderately capable mechanic, I mean if I take it apart I can put it back together. I know how to bleed the system once I get the injectors back in...Just read a couple of threads with warnings about possible visits to hospital due to pressure release etc. Any comments before I dive into this job would be appreciated.
The reason for the injector rebuild-black smoke at running temp. Checked air intake, had the exhaust elbow and coolers boiled and the reinstalled. Not a shaft entaglement issue. Last time I was out I also experienced a fluctuation in RPM. I don't think it was a dirty fuel problem...Anyone else have similar issues and what was the problem? I don't want to get into the fuel pump unless I have to.
opwan2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2012, 20:59   #2

Boat: Lagoon 440
Send a message via Skype™ to impi
Re: Yanmar 4JH3-TE injector removal

http://sagaforumet.com/yanmar-manual...JH3-manual.pdf

Download the entire engine overhaul sevirce book
impi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2012, 08:43   #3

Thanks for the link,but I'm looking for someone with hands on experience to offer up a few pointers.
Old 27-05-2012, 17:45   #4