Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-02-2018, 17:11   #1

Boat: Riva 48
Yanmar 2GM20F knocking sound

Could someone help me diagnose this knocking sound coming from my 2GM20F engine? Halfway through the recording I am playing with the decompression levers to see if the sound changes.

1) When I lift the the decompression lever for cylinder 1, I get a pulsating feedback on my finger.

2) When I turn the crankshaft by hand, slowly, at a certain position, I can hear a spring sound, such as tsk-tsk-tsk, once per revolution.

Thank you,
SV Pizzazz
Attached Files
Pizzazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2018, 17:39   #2

Boat: Bristol 32
Re: Yanmar 2GM20F knocking sound

I have one of these. Love it, by the way. I am no mechanic, but I think that might be a lifter. It doesn't seem to be affecting the engine much, is why I think so.

My engine makes this same sound on start up. As the oil circulates, it stops. I always figured that was oil getting up to the lifters. Maybe you have oil gumming up a an oil passage?

You need a real mechanic, I'm afraid. I hope one chimes in here. Good luck.
Mainebristol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2018, 18:06   #3

Boat: Freedom 38

Who knows if this might help but I just pulled the 3 injectors from my 3GM30F. Ine of the three was missing the o-ring that goes around the bottom of the injector. It seemed reasonable that this might have been the source of the clicking sound on my engine. The injector nozzles are all shot so they're still at the shop, so I can't test my theory, but I am super curious to find out soon...
gamayun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2018, 18:16   #4

Boat: Lancer 44 Motor Sailer