Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2008, 17:10   #1

Boat: 1981 Hunter 27
Yanmar 1GM starting issues

Hi All, first post..

I'm still a newbie, have had a 1981 Hunter 27 with a Yanmar 1GM engine for 2 years.

Recently, when I hit the start button it almost sounds like something is 'grating', and the engine has big touble starting.

However, if someone holds up the compression lever, it will catch and start spinning, then start as soon as the lever is dropped.

This started right after a tropical storm (Hanna) blew through about a month ago, but I don't know if thats a coincidence.

Secondly, I have trouble keeping the RPMs up past about 2500 when in forward or reverse, but in neutral I can I can get up to over 3000. Other owners said it was a fuel issue (and I had no clue how old the fuel was) so I recently had the fuel polished, but no real change.

I have kept up on maintenance in my limited newbie fashion; All filters and oil changed every 4-6 weeks.. The primary filter glass bowl is clear and pink, no water.

Do diesels have trouble maintaining power if under stress due to wind / tides?

I'm totally at a loss and hope that someone has experienced something similar before.

TIA
Hunter27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 20:05   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Ericson 27 & 18' Herrmann Catboat
Sounds like a starter problem first.

Check and clean and secure all battery connections first.

Make sure the starter is tight on the engine.

Post back and keep us advised

There is a lot of help and fun on these boards....
Chief Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 20:14   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(