Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2010, 20:16   #1

Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Which Engine Would You Use ?

I just bought a boat with a Perkins 4-107 that had water enter the cylinders about 3 years ago and the PO let it sit like that. It appears to be rebuildable. I've removed the head and all the pistons and cylinders are junk but the bottom end is OK, no water down there. The engine has 400 hours since the last rebuild. I can repair this engine for about $1000.00 in parts and machine work. I am a mechanic.
My other choice is a Yanmar 3JH5E with about 20 hours on it for 5K.
Most things leading to & from the existing engine need to be replaced either way, so there isn't a huge difference in price or time between the repower and the rebuild as far as exhaust, fuel lines, gauges, etc.
The thing is, I don't have the 5K. I have about 2-3K.
If I go with the Yanmar I'll need to work to earn that other money and work is slow right now. If I go with the Perkins rebuild I can get the boat going 2-3 months sooner.
What would you do?
sww914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2010, 20:26   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
changin gfrom perkins to yanmar was estimated to me to be 20-25000 dollars--yipes-(incl engine)-they said they had to change the stringers, motor mounts, lots of things.
as for the perkins, find a replacement for really cheap and use many parts for spares. you will need them. most of the parts are even usable in the 4-108.
i just repowered with a 4-108 from 4-107. i looked at yanmar first---wanted it, but was prohibitive , price-wise. i go the perkins 4-108 for 2500 and installed for 3 loaves of fresh bread. cant beat that.
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2010, 21:08   #3

Boat: 15 foot Canoe