Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 07:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
Boat: looking for the perfect She
Posts: 7
What Engine Can I Use ?

Hello,
I'm looking a sailing boat to buy. She's a gigolette sciomachen around 12 meters but the engine (nanni mercedes 60Hp) is dead. I'm a beginner in this things so I don't know if I have to look for an equal engine or if I can use other engines. Any inboard diesel engine fits in any sailing boat?? What I should have in mind to make sure that a engine that I might buy fits in the new boat?
Can you give any suggestion about the cheapest solution to do it?
Attached I have a photo of the old engine.

Thanks

Jonas Fish
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nanni mercedes 60hp.jpg
Views:	409
Size:	427.2 KB
ID:	22533  
__________________

__________________
jonasfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 08:11   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Jonas.

Most marine diesel engines can be made to fit in most boats - some much easier into some boats than others. The engine mounting beds are often the limiting factor. You’ll probably need a marine mechanic to review the actual boat and proposed replacement engine to determine specific suitability, and installed COST.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 10:27   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
Boat: looking for the perfect She
Posts: 7
Thanks for your precious help.
Whatever will be the option looks it will be expensive once I'm from Portugal and the boat is in Italy where I don't have any connections which will increase the costs even more. How I wish to bring she to Portugal without engine then everything would be easier.
Thanks again
Jonas Fish
__________________
jonasfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:59   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Blue Stocking's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Georges, Bda
Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Posts: 4,115
Jonasfish,

Here is what I would do, as I have done a number of times in the past.

Find on the Internet, or from a Nanni dealer, a brochure on the model you have installed now. This should include top, side, and front drawings with measurements of engine.
With 3 or 4mm plywood, make a template of your engine bed bolts layout.
With the side view, draw and cutout engine shape above and below engine mount line, or sometimes crankshaft centerline, and tape or glue this to the fore and aft centerline of the bolt layout template.
This will give you basic 3 dimensional of engine.
On the templates you can make notes of parts where they stick out from engine, to clear other things, such as batteries, thru-hulls etc.
Do the same thing with the engine you would like to use, and compare sizes.
You should get a good idea of what will fit
For height determination, look carefully at relationship between crankshaft, gearbox output (propellor shaft) centerline, and where mounts rest on engine beds.
Also look at exhaust outlet, and waterpump intake location on the different engines.
__________________
so many projects--so little time !!
Blue Stocking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 13:49   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Stocking View Post
... Find on the Internet, or from a Nanni dealer, a brochure on the model you have installed now. This should include top, side, and front drawings with measurements of engine...
Great advice!
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 14:21   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Palm Beach, Fl.
Boat: Westerly Corsair 36' "Stargazer"
Posts: 140
jonasfish,
Best advise is bluestockings but keep in mind how much room on each side of the engine you have in the engineroom. If you have to practically stand on your head to get the injectors out because they are on the inboard side rather than outboard (or visa versa) you will have problems servicing same at sea. It looks like a beautifull boat but you must keep in mind the cost of getting it to where you have the connections to do what you want. Away from home presents too many obsticles.
all the best!
Clif
__________________
clifford sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 14:32   #7
cruiser

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SF Bay Area; Former Annapolis and MA Liveaboard.
Boat: Looking and saving for my next...mid-atlantic coast
Posts: 6,197
Honestly, after all the measurements are done, I think you will find the sizes are *smaller* on newer engines these days, and more efficient.
__________________
SaltyMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 15:36   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
Boat: looking for the perfect She
Posts: 7
Thanks BlueStocking,

however, it is an difficult situation to make your suggestions once I'm far away from the boat (Portugal-Italy) and the money for the logistic is short.
I was wondering if it possible to sail the boat to Portugal without engine (or just with a small outboard engine adaptation), or this is a completely impossible crazy idea??
In my home country everything will easier and cheaper.


Jonas Fish
__________________
jonasfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 16:03   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bundaberg, Australia
Boat: 57ft Steel Expedition Vessel
Posts: 173
What is wrong with the original engine. Is a rebuild possible? that way you know it will fit back in the boat and you will also know the exact internal condition of the engine (rebuilt).

Damien
__________________
Dame.n.Jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 16:32   #10
Registered User
 
jrd22's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Juan Islands, WA
Boat: 1988 Brewer Three Seas 40' Pilothouse
Posts: 251
You could sail it if you secure the prop shaft in place and figure out a way to charge your batteries (solar, generator, etc). If you have a dinghy and outboard you could use those to move the boat if necessary. Must be around 1000NM, so not a small undertaking but certainly doable if you have some experience.
As far as fitting a new engine, Beta will make custom feet for one of their engines that will fit your old footprint which makes things easier.
__________________
John Davidson
S/V Laurie Anne
1988 40' Brewer Pilothouse
jrd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 17:09   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
Boat: looking for the perfect She
Posts: 7
Hello jrd22,

I'm glad that my idea about sailing Italy-Portugal without inboard engine is not so crazy like that. Perhaps I'll do it and solve all the engine problems back home.
Thanks
__________________
jonasfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 17:19   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, Ca
Boat: Hunter Passage 420
Posts: 28
Wholeheartedly concur with Blue Stocking's advice. I recently repowered, switching from a Perkins 104 to an Isuzu C240. Making a plywood mockup showed me how (and if!) things would fit, and most importantly that I needed to cut down the stringers. This was much easier with the engine compartment empty. The mockup also showed me where the engine shaft was in relation to the prop shaft, making final alignment much easier also.
__________________
Windblown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 18:14   #13
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK/Portugal
Posts: 20,206
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
pirate

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonasfish View Post
Thanks for your precious help.
Whatever will be the option looks it will be expensive once I'm from Portugal and the boat is in Italy where I don't have any connections which will increase the costs even more. How I wish to bring she to Portugal without engine then everything would be easier.
Thanks again
Jonas Fish
Jonas... you do not need an engine to bring her to Portugal... as long as the hole for the prop shaft is secure and not leaking it can be done if you want...
Believe me its not that hard...
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 19:34   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bundaberg, Australia
Boat: 57ft Steel Expedition Vessel
Posts: 173
We Had a Volvo Penta in our boat, it stunk, I couldn't get it to not stink and I finally choose to not have a damn inboard!!! You don't need them, we have an outboard for manoeuvres but can sail thru a needle (full length keel to) if you know the shaft is secure and cant come out (two hose clips on the inside of the hull and two on the outside of the hull will stop the shaft from coming out) take the prop off and you wont have any shaft turning issues to deal with (plus some extra boat speed)

You could sail your boat home without to many issues (assuming the boat if fit to make the trip)

Sailing does not need to be as complex as most people make it. it never was that complex but the information age and ''I want it now'' attitudes have a lot to answer for...

How confident do you feel sailing that far without a motor? is it simple a cost saving measure and hoping the safety needs wont happen or is it a genuine desire to not buy into the mentality of boats without engines cant cross oceans...
__________________
Dame.n.Jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 20:24   #15
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Just as an aside in Europe with a CE boat you can only re power with an engine that the manufacturer has done the emissions and possibly sound bye pass test for that type( model) of boat . Otherwise you'll have to do that part of the certification again.
( as monthly python would day " not a lot of people know that")
Dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Engine Would You Use ? sww914 Engines and Propulsion Systems 16 19-12-2012 23:56
Engine Bolted Straight to the Steel Hull ! Engine Name ? Windlass Name ? surfmachine Engines and Propulsion Systems 15 14-02-2011 17:08
How Much Do You Use Your Engine ? crazyhorse77 Navigation 14 12-12-2010 21:28
Engine Bay Makeover - Rewiring - Including Engine Removal! blahman Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 52 02-12-2009 10:01
Which Engine? nhschneider Engines and Propulsion Systems 49 02-12-2009 04:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.