Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2015, 19:48   #1

Boat: S2 9.2A
Water pump plumbing corroded

Last year I inherited an S2 9.2A and I've recently been trying to give the engine a good going-over to make sure everything is in good shape (and to learn how things work...novice here). The engine (Yanmar 2QM15) hasn't been started in over a year.

In pulling the water pump">raw water pump this evening, I found a badly corroded elbow on the input side. What should I be looking for in a replacement to prevent this from re-occurring ? Was this corrosion caused because the elbow and pump are dissimilar metals ? Do I need a new bronze elbow (the pump is bronze I presume) or is there some better solution ? I do plan to replace the hose, btw.

Thanks for any advice you can give. I've been trying to learn all that I can but this is all new to me.

-Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150604_193611.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	414.9 KB
ID:	103223   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150604_193500.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	417.1 KB
ID:	103224  

Sponge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 20:06   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Water pump plumbing corroded

Is that a steel elbow. It looks like it. If so, yes it needs to be replaced with Bronze. Or get the correct hose connection fittings for the pump. Like the discharge side.. It looks like someone install the elbow and pipe section to mate up with a larger intake hose. I would bush down to the smaller inlet size at the sea strainer discharge and install a smaller hose.

Water flow is only about 2-3 gpm in the 15qm, so 1/2" (13mm) hose/pipe is fine.
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 20:10   #3

Boat: Seafarer36c