Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2018, 17:29   #1

Boat: Leopard 39
Urgent need for information Boat purchase on the horizon

I fly to St. Augustine in two days to look at what is very possibly THE BOAT my wife and I have been seeking for the last 2 years. Very exciting. I was just informed by the seller that one of the saildrives is showing water in the oil. He told me a month ago that he had replaced one of the saildrives last year and knew that the second one would need to be replaced sooner or later. Evidently sooner was yesterday or at least in the near future. As this was disclosed when we first started talking it's no worries. I do however need to get real world information on the cost to replace the sail drive. The engine is a Yanmar 3ym30AE (2015) which will require a SD 25 sail drive. I plan on calling a number of yards and dealers tomorrow to get prices but am concerned I might not get real world numbers, especially on the install. The boat is a 2003 Lagoon 380 currently in St. Augustine. The work could be done in the area or further North as the boat will need to be moved above 30 degrees no later than July 15th due to hurricane insurance requirements. Does anyone have estimates on cost of the SD 25 and labor to install it? Does the engine have to be hauled to do the install? Obviously the boat would have to be. Lastly, can anyone recommend a boat yard in St. Augustine to do the work? St. Augustine Marine Center seems to have the only haul out machinery to handle this size catamaran. Anyone have experience with them? Thanks in advance for any and all input.