Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-06-2012, 09:46   #1

Boat: Davidson 44
Universal Diesel

We just bought a boat with a Universal Deisel 40, circa 1990, 32hp at 2800 rpm. We don't know how many hours are on the engine but assume less than 5000. It runs fine and has been well maintained by previous owner (heat exchanger and starter replaced). I have no experience with these engines (I've had Volvos, Perkins, Yanmars, Westebekes). My concern is that, after several oil changes, the oil is still very black. Anyone have experience with these? What can we expect? How many hours can you get from these engines? We are planning to take the boat across the Pacific and need to know what failures might occur, what spares we'll need, how long we can expect this engine to run? Thanks for any information.
sailamaryllis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 14:16   #2

Boat: 44 CC Marples design trimaran
Re: Universal Diesel

I just finished rebuilding a Universal m-50 of about the same vintage for my 44 foot trimaran. The engines are built around the Kubota engine block- mine is the V-1902 which has been standard for skid steer loaders for the past 30 years or so, yours is based on the kubota V-1502- a very similar engine with slightly smaller pistons and a slightly shorter stroke on the crank. Kubota is known for making very hunky, reliable small diesel engines for a wide variety of applications.