Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-08-2014, 12:07   #1

Boat: Nordhavn 46, 46'
Strange Theory about Engine Overheating

I have a Mastervolt 6 Genset. Sits in a plastic, insulated case above the boat engine. It has a Mastervolt exhaust gas separator, a device which separates the exhaust gases from the exhaust water. The separator is downstream from the exhaust mixing elbow. The gases are vented out the back of the boat through an opening in the transom, while the water is discharged via a thru-hull under the boat. The purpose of this is quiet running, i.e., no above waterline water discharge to make noise.