Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2008, 16:50   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Island Spirit 401
Smoky Yanmar Part 2

Hello,

A little while back I was having intermittent blue smoke and posted this in my “Smoky Yanmar” Post.

Well here is the continuation of my saga.

As I mentioned in the other post I am new to diesels but I am learning very quickly thanks to books, but mostly all of you here on this forum... So thank you very much!! This site is invaluable.

So I think that what may have been happening was that a fuel injector that was starting to get bad. The blue smoke that I was seeing may not have been as blue as I thought and was probably unburned diesel.

I “almost “always check my oil before start up but the last run was an upwind motor back home against the chop. Checked the level the next morning and I was DOUBLE over the fill line!! So I drained the oil right away discovering that I had 12 Litres in there (max is 6.5). I am thinking this is diesel fuel and not water. It’s diluted, not milky or foamy and the water level is the same.

During troubleshooting that day I also discovered that I have one of my injectors not working properly by cracking the fuel line while the engine was running. There was no noticeable change in that cylinder but the others sure affected the RPM. Oh, and I’m getting a slick at the back of the boat when idling in gear above 1000 RPM. So, one injector is on order for spare and the others will be sent to the shop.

I didn’t have time yet but I will be taking apart the lift pump and I already have a diaphragm for that.

So, 5 litres of fuel diluted in my oil, I'm sure that’s not good for it. I am a little concerned that I may have caused a bit of excessive wear on the engine.