Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2007, 14:42   #1
Han

Boat: Orca 38
Single grade oil?

Hi All,

We have an older (1978) Sabb diesel in our new (to us) sailiboat. I was planning to change the oil last weekend, but I ran into a bit of a roadblock. The manual says to use SAE 10 (for below 10C) and specifically says DO NOT use multigrade oil. However, I'm finding it pretty difficult to find SAE 10 oil. Has anyone else run across this problem? Would it be a big problem to put a multigrade oil in? I'm no mechanic and I'm not sure if there have been big changes in oil technology since 1978, so any advise is appreciated.

Thanks!
Han is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 14:49   #2

Boat: Vic Franck Delta 50
I am not a diesel expert by any means, but this question just came up last week at a 3-day diesel maintenance class in Seattle taught by Larry Blais. Same advice: no multi-viscosity oils as they have less lubricity (he said that around here, in Puget Sound, 30 weight is fine, and recommended Delo 400 as his favorite).

Cheers,
Steve
Old 06-12-2007, 14:56   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
I just got a new set of diesels from Cummins that require multi-grade. Why?..no idea.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 17:43   #4

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
Internal boat motors should not need multigrade oils. The temperature does not fluctuate inside a boat like on car/trucks. The lows shouldn't be so low that a multigrade would be necessary. Maybe on a boat in Alaska
Old 06-12-2007, 19:06   #5

Boat: Was - Passport 45 Ketch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Han View Post
Hi All,