Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-08-2015, 11:22   #1

Sheen on the water

One of my neighbors at the Marina came to me the other day with news of a sheen on the water around my boat right after the bilge pump kicked on. Turns out the oil pressure sender blew up. I fixed it, cleaned the engine and bilge with degreaser, there are no more leaks that I can see but there is still a sheen present when the bilge kicks on. Don't smell like anything so I can't tell what it is. The only thing I can think of is that it's coming from the bilge boom leaking into the water. But I thought those thingswere to prevent just that. As you can tell I'm new to sailing so pardon my ignorance. I just want to get this to stop because for one I want to be environmentally friendly and I also hate for management at the Marina to bring it up as an issue. Thank you all for your help!

LB
CervezaE35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 11:30   #2

Re: Sheen on the water

Clean the bilge with Joy or bilge cleaner that will remove oil residue from everything. Replace the bilge boom.

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 11:33   #3
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34

And I assume you know that the fines can be VERY hefty (5-6 figures). Marina management is not your biggest concern.
Old 18-08-2015, 12:02   #4

Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida

The marina, if in the U.S., has a duty to report such incidents or may be culpable as well. Worry about the big stuff.
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 12:07   #5