Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-03-2016, 15:23   #1

Boat: Dolphin 460 Catamaran
Retorquing After Rebuild - Volvo Penta MD2040

We had our engine rebuilt in Feb and the mechanic told us to retorque the head bolts at 50 hours. We just hit that and unfortunately there aren't really any mechanics handy. I'm not squeamish about getting my hands dirty, but I'm not very experienced with diesel engines yet. I have a torque wrench and a workshop manual, but the manual isn't super helpful. It describes how to strip and rebuild the engine, but there aren't instructions for what to take apart to retorque the head bolts.

My question is two-fold I guess:

First, how important is this? Can it be postponed until we get somewhere with someone who knows what they're doing?

Second, what really needs to be taken off to do it? Is it just the valve cover, or do I need to take off the heat exchanger/alternator/injectors/oil pressure pipe/etc as described in the teardown in the manual?
cainiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2016, 16:59   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG
Re: Retorquing After Rebuild - Volvo Penta MD2040

It can wait. You only take off the valve cover. You may need a new gasket.
I don't know your engine, but all the other engines I have rebuilt have the head bolts on the top of the head. You remove the valve cover. Some bolt heads could be outside the valve cover, but some are under neath the cover, too.