Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-07-2015, 13:04   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 121
Replacing on-engine CAV filter with racor 120a? possible?

I was compemplating replacing the on-engine CAV filter, as changing the filter on the westerbeke w30 in an allied seawind II is nothing short of a mind-boggling pain in the balls - you can barely see the filter to begin with, then need to hang by your toes with wrenches fully extended to do ANYTHING with it, never mind being careful about contamination, etc.


Anyway,


the existing CAV filter appears to have 2 in and 2 out ports, plus a top vent.


fuel from the tank come into one entry point, return from the injector pump comes in the other, and one output goes to the injector pump, while the final 'port' is blanked off.


Injector return appears to go to the vent, where it connects to the tank return line.


It looks like I can easily do all this with a standard racor120a, with the exception of the vent hookup.


Can I use the second filter head output as 'vent'?
do I need to get an appropriate fitting for the racor vent plug (3/8-24) and use that for vent?

Do I need to acquire check valves so injector overflow doesn't go into the 'vent'?

Can I send injector overflow directly to the tank?


Has anyone done this?


TIA,


Matt
__________________

__________________
mlydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2015, 13:40   #2
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Replacing on-engine CAV filter with racor 120a? possible?

I have this cool spin on filter adapter that I was going to suggest. Turns out the company has discontinued it. There must be another?
__________________

__________________
Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2015, 04:27   #3
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,336
Re: Replacing on-engine CAV filter with racor 120a? possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlydon View Post
I was compemplating replacing the on-engine CAV filter, as changing the filter on the westerbeke w30 in an allied seawind II is nothing short of a mind-boggling pain in the balls - you can barely see the filter to begin with, then need to hang by your toes with wrenches fully extended to do ANYTHING with it, never mind being careful about contamination, etc.


Anyway,


the existing CAV filter appears to have 2 in and 2 out ports, plus a top vent.


fuel from the tank come into one entry point, return from the injector pump comes in the other, and one output goes to the injector pump, while the final 'port' is blanked off.


Injector return appears to go to the vent, where it connects to the tank return line.


It looks like I can easily do all this with a standard racor120a, with the exception of the vent hookup.


Can I use the second filter head output as 'vent'?
do I need to get an appropriate fitting for the racor vent plug (3/8-24) and use that for vent?

Do I need to acquire check valves so injector overflow doesn't go into the 'vent'?

Can I send injector overflow directly to the tank?


Has anyone done this?


TIA,


Matt
I can't answer all your questions but I can answer one!

Can I send injector overflow directly to the tank?

Yes, this a very normal arrangement.

Some say this is best practice but I can't vouch for that. I have read it is possible for the overflow fuel to get warm in some arrangements and so it is better for it to return to the tank. Again I have no personal experience of the fuel getting warm. But to repeat, it is quite OK for the fuel return to be piped back to the tank.

As far a the CAV ports are concerned, you can use any "IN" port and any "OUT" port that best suits your requirements. The unused ones are just blanked off. The one you describe as a "vent" is the bleeding point for the filter. I haven't seen it used for anything but bleeding but I guess it could be used??? Not sure which side of the filter it is on but it can't be hard to work out if you have to.

Another possibility is to leave the CAV filter on the engine untouched and put your Racor somewhere convenient (on a bulkhead or whatever) and use it as your main filter feeding filtered fuel into the CAV unit.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2015, 15:24   #4
Registered User
 
sanibel sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sanibel FL
Boat: 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
Posts: 978
Re: Replacing on-engine CAV filter with racor 120a? possible?

Not an answer to your question, but...

My access is not bad, yours may be. I modified my W30 secondary filter in two ways to make life better. Pulled the bolts on the mounting bracket, added hex couplers and raised the entire assembly about 2 inches or so. Now I can get something under it to catch the fuel when it is time to change. And how about a drain? I drilled a spot on the base plate, tapped a hole and added a stopcock to be able to drain the fuel when changing.

I will also admit to replacing my fuel tank, fuel fill O-ring and all the hoses. Since then the fuel in the Racor has been perfect and I have not changed any filters in a couple of years. I have drained the Racor bowl a time or two and it remains good. I will see if I can post a pic.
__________________
John Churchill Sanibel FL
NURDLE, 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
sanibel sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 06:20   #5
Registered User
 
sanibel sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sanibel FL
Boat: 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
Posts: 978
Re: Replacing on-engine CAV filter with racor 120a? possible?

Here is the couplers to raise the filter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	411.4 KB
ID:	106868  
__________________
John Churchill Sanibel FL
NURDLE, 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
sanibel sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 06:23   #6
Registered User
 
sanibel sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sanibel FL
Boat: 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
Posts: 978
Re: Replacing on-engine CAV filter with racor 120a? possible?

And the drain at the bottom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	419.7 KB
ID:	106869  
__________________

__________________
John Churchill Sanibel FL
NURDLE, 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
sanibel sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine, racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
racor 500 filter what micron filter? quartersplash Engines and Propulsion Systems 21 09-05-2012 08:15
Filter Gasoline in a Racor Diesel Filter ? Sailorman Ed Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 04-12-2011 20:37
For Sale: Racor 500-Like Filter and Valves for Dual Filter Setup funjohnson Classifieds Archive 2 07-08-2011 13:52
Changing a CAV-Type Filter without Spilling a Drop billwa Engines and Propulsion Systems 2 23-08-2010 07:19
CAV fuel filter seafox Engines and Propulsion Systems 8 21-10-2006 02:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.