Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2018, 21:46   #1
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,361
Racor vacuum gauge

Hi all, I've just fitted two racor vacuum gauges to my filters. I've had gauges before on previous boats but these racors are different, they have little blue vent plugs at the top where my previous ones did not.

The instructions say "after install, pull up blue cap on fill/vent plug to full open position. Opening the vent plug will relieve internal pressure changes in the gauge cases that have been induced by environmental changes in pressure /temperature. Without being vented the change in internal pressure could adversely affect the accuracy of the gauge ".

It says nothing about closing it again. Do you leave this plug open all the time?

It seems strange to me that you have a little vent in the top of a vacuum gauge won't this effect its operation?

What am I missing /not understanding? As mentioned previous gauges on my earlier boats didn't have it and they seemed to work fine.

Cheers Dale.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	15237674753442136992065.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	401.4 KB
ID:	168107  
__________________

__________________
daletournier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2018, 22:25   #2
Registered User
 
Alan Mighty's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Scarborough Boat Harbour, Moreton Bay
Boat: US$4,550 of lead under a GRP masthead cutter
Posts: 843
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

Most interesting, Dale.

I've a dual Racor with a vacuum gauge on Led Myne. And I've had single Racor filters on previous boats.

I note that Racor has given me, both by e-mail and by phone, excellent customer service. So an e-mail (to racortech@parker.com) should work.

My reading of what you've written suggests the vent lets you zero the gauge to suit your conditions (you could be on a high altitude lake, a low altitude lake, or at sea level in between). If that's the case, then seems to me that you open the vent to zero the gauge and then close it because you've established zero for your atmospheric conditions.

RacorTech should answer you fast and more reliably than me.

I will note another issue: Racor vacuum gauges (without a vent) are unreliable if they're in a situation where fuel is supplied to them under pressure (by a pump) and especially if the pump pressure varies. The gauges are vacuum gauges, measuring any "vacuum" created by clogging of the filter element. If the fuel is supplied under pressure, especially varying pressure, that defeats a lot of the thinking behind a vacuum gauge. But I have trouble thinking that the vented gauge was designed for that situation.
__________________

__________________
“Only a fool learns from his own mistakes. The wise man learns from the mistakes of others.” - Otto von Bismarck
Alan Mighty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2018, 22:41   #3
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,361
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

Hi Alan, this is my thoughts but the instructions say absolutely nothing about pushing the vent closed again, surely they don't assume all that fit them no to push them shut one gauge is equalised?
As you suggested, I'll send them a email.
__________________
daletournier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2018, 22:58   #4
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Pacific
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 1,499
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

This is from their marketing fluff:

Quote:
NEW UPGRADED FEATURES:
Stainless Steel case and face increased from 2.0 inches to 2.5 inches diameter for easier reading

The improved cases feature a pressure relief valve to adjust to ambient barometric pressure changes

Acrylic lenses upgraded to polycarbonate

Needle stops replaced with internal locking mechanism to prevent damage due to an accidental overpressure

Internal sealing at the fitting, lens, and pressure relief valve reduces the likelihood of internal contamination by splashing fluids
Sounds like they've gone to a sealed case to prevent contamination inside the case, which in turn means the case needs a vent. Since their fluff says the vent is to 'adjust to ambient barometric pressure changes' I'd suspect it has to stay open.

Funny that, 20 years ago Racor advertised getting rid of liquid filled gauges and moving to silicone damped so they could get away from the liquid/vent etc.
__________________
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 01:02   #5
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 7,219
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

I've had 4 of the older cardio Racor Vacumn gauges leak and fail, so I just gave up on them .

Seems they have tried to improve, but with a Duplex system, I don't really need them
__________________
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 08:46   #6
Registered User
 
Eigenvector's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Mostly Texas
Boat: Lagoon 37 TPI
Posts: 75
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

Sounds like you have diaphram pressure gauges which isolates the diesel from enterning the gauge. These yours are also liquid filled. By burping the little plug on top you eliminate the small atmosperic delta across the diaphram. This is important for low pressure measurements where the change in atmospheric pressure is significant to the measured reading. Burp and close. Closing prevents contamination.
__________________
======================
Don't Tell My Mom I Work In the Oilfield,
She Thinks I'm a Piano Player in a Whorehouse.
Eigenvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 09:12   #7
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,361
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

These are the ones I purchased https://www.defender.com/product.jsp?id=3939915

My feeling is they should be closed, no mention of burping in instructions , just open once insta . I've sent of an email to Racor for clarity.
__________________
daletournier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 09:29   #8
Registered User
 
Eigenvector's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Mostly Texas
Boat: Lagoon 37 TPI
Posts: 75
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

Ok, looked up what you have. Those don't appear to be liquid filled like I'm used to.

So a more technical explination of the funtionallity: You have two types of pressure/vacuum measurements: Absolute & Gauge Pressure.

Gauge pressure measures the difference between atmospheric pressure and the line pressure. An abolute pressure gauge on the other hand would read 14.696 psi (at STP for the sticklers) with no line pressure.

You are measureing gauge pressure of the fuel relative to the ambient atmospheric pressure. Because the case of the gauge is sealed well, the atmosperic pressure on your fuel system may drop with a front passing through, but the gauge is sealed and has a resulting internal pressure higher than atmosphere during this event. By burping the vent, the gauge returns to Zero, where it should be because you're not running the engine. You could leave it open, but you run the risk of contamination. Just burp it before you read it. See if the needle moves.
__________________
======================
Don't Tell My Mom I Work In the Oilfield,
She Thinks I'm a Piano Player in a Whorehouse.
Eigenvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2018, 10:00   #9
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,361
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

Recieved a reply from Racor "Hello Dale,

Once you have equalized pressure at sea level, close the blue plug. There is usually no further need to open it. "

I think their instructions that come with the filters need to ne clearer.
__________________
daletournier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2018, 12:18   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 781
Re: Racor vacuum gauge

You close them after a few seconds.
__________________

__________________
Keth

Boat Vinyl Lettering and Graphics
Bleemus is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diesel Fuel in T-handle Vacuum Gauge mmarin Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 05-10-2015 09:47
Vacuum Gauge PSI advise. Mellieha Engines and Propulsion Systems 19 14-08-2014 12:29
Vacuum gauge Capt.Don Engines and Propulsion Systems 10 07-11-2013 20:07
Racor Filter Vacuum Gauge JackHeaston Marine Electronics 7 18-03-2012 18:51
New Vacuum Gauge for Racor 500/900 &1000 swisscraft Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 13-12-2011 22:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.