Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2011, 06:51   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Racor Fuel Filter Pressure

Hello

I recently replaced the T handle on my Racor 500 with a pressure gauge. To my surprise I am getting positive pressure ( 5 psi) . I pulled all the hoses .nothing seems blocked. Changed the filters. I am still getting the pressure reading.

Anyone have any ideas? Should I be worried?
__________________

__________________
Ajfowlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:15   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

YES, be worried! ;o)

Not enough information to make a call on this question. What size engine? What is the throttle setting when you get the reading? Is the pressure positive or negative?
__________________

__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:43   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
osirissail's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: A real life Zombie from FL
Boat: Gulfstar 53 - Osiris
Posts: 5,416
Images: 2
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

Simply looking at your fuel system will give you the answer. Where is your Racor Fuel filter in the system?
- - If it is between the fuel tank and the engine lift pump or any other pressure pump (electric), then the gauge is faulty.
- - If it is between the engine lift pump or any other pressure pump (electric) and the engine high pressure (injector pump) then the gauge if fine as you are "pumping" fuel through the filter.
- - If you are "pumping" fuel through the filter (positive pressure on the guage) then you might consider changing the plumbing to put the Racor fuel filter between the tank and any pumps. The concern is that "pressuring" fuel through the filter membrane is not a good idea as when the filter "clogs" the pump pressure could rupture the filter membrane and send dirty fuel into your high pressure (injector) pump.
__________________
osirissail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 08:11   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

Is your tank location higher than the engine or filter?

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 08:33   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks for your responses. To answer your questions:

The tank is above the filter and engine (i wondered if it was head pressure as the reading is the same when engine is not running)

The filter is between the tank and fuel feed pump with no electric pumps in between

It is a positive pressure at all engine speeds

I have got the same reading from three different gauges
__________________
Ajfowlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 08:53   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

I think it is head pressure. Try partially squeezing the inlet line to the filter while the engine is running and see if the gauge reading changes.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 09:10   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 793
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

Each foot of head gives about .4 PSI, so 5 PSI is over 10 feet of head which seems unlikely. However, pressure gauges are not always the most accurate things in the world, especially at the beginning and end of their range, so I wouldn't worry to much that the numbers don't add up very well. Head does seem like the only plausible explanation.
__________________
twistedtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 10:01   #8
Registered User
 
callistov42's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seabrook, Texas
Boat: Vagabond 42
Posts: 169
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

But if you don't have an electric fuel pump between the tank and the Racor, how do you refill the Racor after changing a filter?
__________________
callistov42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 13:57   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
osirissail's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: A real life Zombie from FL
Boat: Gulfstar 53 - Osiris
Posts: 5,416
Images: 2
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

Aha! I just thought of something about when I installed my Racor vacuum/pressure gauge - - Did you remove the little piece of cellophane tape from the back of the gauge? That piece of tape covers over the "ambient" pressure sensing hole in the gauge.
__________________
osirissail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 13:59   #10
Registered User
 
Target9000's Avatar

Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Orleans LA
Boat: 74 Westsail 32
Posts: 1,379
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

Quote:
Originally Posted by osirissail View Post
Aha! I just thought of something about when I installed my Racor vacuum/pressure gauge - - Did you remove the little piece of cellophane tape from the back of the gauge? That piece of tape covers over the "ambient" pressure sensing hole in the gauge.
Sometimes this can also come in the form of a rubber or plastic nipple that you must snip the tip off of. It can also be on the top of the gauge.
__________________
Let your heart tell you where to go, but let your brain tell you how to get there.

Sundowner Sails Again
Target9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 14:23   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,140
Re: Racor fuel filter pressure

Quote:
Originally Posted by callistov42 View Post
But if you don't have an electric fuel pump between the tank and the Racor, how do you refill the Racor after changing a filter?

The easiest way is to fill the filter and bowl before attaching it and then it'll take very little pumping (the Racor housing has a little mechanical pump in it) to fill it up.
__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 08:01   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Re: Racor Fuel Filter Pressure

Howdy, A neat trick to priming the Racor(presume 500series) is to put a good quality Squeeze Ball in line right before the Racor.Just hand pump the bowl full ,install the cover and away you go.The squeezeball freeflows beautifully when running.The Brand name balls use a rubber that is compatible with most all fuels.
__________________
crzhors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 08:19   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,152
Re: Racor Fuel Filter Pressure

Since you say the gauge does not move at all I suspect the gauge is faulty. I agree with checking what osirissal says.

Does it still say 5 PSI when it is exposed to atmospheric pressure? It should read zero then.
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2011, 08:48   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 774
Re: Racor Fuel Filter Pressure

I agree with the squeeze-ball application. If there's air in the gauge it'll give a false reading. The primary filter may also be plugged (should be 2M and the Raycor should be a 10M).
__________________

__________________

Seahunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel, fuel filter, racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perkins 4108 Air Filter Installation jlogan Engines and Propulsion Systems 0 29-06-2011 11:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.