Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2012, 12:40   #1
Registered User
 
Bob on OTTER's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 98
Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

Question, will draining off a bit of fuel/water from sight bowl bring on a low pressure side bleed? Yannie 2GM20F running great...don't want to fix what ain't broken. Thoughts? Tnx
__________________

__________________
Bob on OTTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 12:57   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,376
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

May depend to some degree on how your boat is set up. If the filter is below the fuel level in your tank then should not be a problem. Just make sure the feed from the tank to the filter is open and drain the crude out of the bottom of the Racor. New fuel should feed in to replace what you drain out.

If the Racor is higher than the fuel in the tank then you might end up with a little air in the top of the Racor which you could top off with a little extra diesel before you fire up the engine.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 13:33   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
If you have crap in the bottom of your racor bowl definently drain it with the engine off of course. And as the previous poster said top it off w/ fuel and re-seal. You fuel inlet pressure will drop and the engine will be happy.
__________________
MasterMariner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 14:05   #4
Registered User
 
Bob on OTTER's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 98
Racor should be below fuel level, somewhat. Good advice Shipmates. Tnx. Filters are changed out, but never had need to drain a bit. Assumed I could do so without introducing air into fuel system.

Bob
__________________
Bob on OTTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 14:35   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Covington, LA
Boat: Watkins 29, Southern Dream
Posts: 19
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

When you open the drain on your Racor FG500, a little diesel (or whatever lies at the bottom of the filter) will drain -then stop. If you need more to drain, you will have to open the top which will allow the full contents of the filter to run out. Fuel will run back down the in coming hose if the filter is higher than your tank if you can't shut off a valve at the filter inflow. If you fill the filter up to the top with fresh diesel, seal the lid, and then manually prime the fuel pump, on the Yanmar 2G, you can probably get by with out a full bleed. Let the engine run for 15 minutes or so before heading out to make sure you have no air in the fuel line. If the engine dies, simply start the bleed process at the secondary filter.
__________________
________________
Joe Ward
Southern Dream
New Orleans, LA
jward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 15:53   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seattle
Boat: Cal 40
Posts: 2,401
Images: 7
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterMariner View Post
If you have crap in the bottom of your racor bowl definently drain it with the engine off of course. And as the previous poster said top it off w/ fuel and re-seal. You fuel inlet pressure will drop and the engine will be happy.
I don't think the vacuum will drop by draining crap out the bottom, it will drop if you replace a clogged filter.

John
__________________
cal40john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 15:54   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal40john

I don't think the vacuum will drop by draining crap out the bottom, it will drop if you replace a clogged filter.

John
Thanks John that is what I meant to say forgot the filter part
__________________
MasterMariner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2012, 12:50   #8
Eternal Member
 
Chief Engineer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North of Baltimore
Boat: Ericson 27 & 18' Herrmann Catboat
Posts: 3,798
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

You can remove the bowl,,,,there is a gasket/o=ring and wipe it clean
use no solvents

Do not over tighten the screws
__________________
Chief Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 15:36   #9
Registered User
 
Bob on OTTER's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 98
Tnx again Shipmates...wishing you clean fuel. . .
__________________
Bob on OTTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2012, 15:53   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: New Smyrna Beach, Fl
Posts: 105
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

Tried to drain fuel out of racor today by removing screw on bottom of filter but nothing came out. Normally I change the filters every 100 hrs although I have never drained them before. Do you need to loosen t-handle and cap to release diesel?
__________________
C Skip R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2012, 06:00   #11
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,984
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by C Skip R View Post
Tried to drain fuel out of racor today by removing screw on bottom of filter but nothing came out. Normally I change the filters every 100 hrs although I have never drained them before. Do you need to loosen t-handle and cap to release diesel?

Might just be clogged; tie inserting something (tie wrap? straightened paper clip? to see if that helps. Otherwise, slightly loosening the T-handle may be required.

Of course be prepared to "catch" the drainage. Zip locs or whatever, backstopped with a Zorb cloth (or diaper), etc.

A big light source behind the sight bowl will often help you tell more easily whether drainage is even required...

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2012, 06:22   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Re: Racor Drain Requires Bleed?

See Racor Service Manuals & User Guides
Parker - Engineering Your Success

Including Racor 120A and 120B Series fuel filter/water separators
http://www.parker.com/parker/jsp/doc...0048021dacRCRD

and more ...
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.